AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

A compact, light, and elegantly designed smartphone featuring a vibrant 3.5 inch touch screen and Android Jelly Bean provides an exceptionally smart experience at a very smart price.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
16
12 of 42(29%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black
Review 1 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Makes me sad

, October 7, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: gets service, bluetooth
Cons: slow, battery, touch screen, internet, dials emergency numbers, camera
"I bought this phone when my Galaxy stopped receiving text and needed something quick and cheap. This phone is certainly cheap and definitely a major downgrade.
The Camera is poor, there is no flash or front camera.
It is very slow. It took me over an hour to update 1 app and download 4 others. The wifi jumps around and drops out a lot in the same places my galaxy was stable. It is slow slow on the internet that it is not even worth using. Even basic functions like typing have considerable lag.
The phone and screen are small. Small would not be too much of a problem if the screen responded like it should. The screen has proven to be not very accurate. Even when I type very carefully, I get about half of the message wrong.
The battery is not the worst I've seen. With only texting, it can last two days. The battery is not consistent so I charge it nightly. Sometimes turning it on will drop the battery 10% while others it will drop 25%. Battery consumption throughout the day without changing the amount of use also varies considerably.
I have only been using this phone for two weeks and I have already been having problems with the capacitive buttons at the bottom stop working. When this happens, the phone becomes almost unusable and usually the screen will push random buttons as well. The problem has always gone away if I lock it and leave it be for a few minutes, but this could be danger in an emergency.
This phone dials 911 all of the time. I can be holding the phone not touching any buttons and watch the phone dial emergency numbers. This has happened at least 4 times.
Most of the phone is pretty bad. I paid too much for this phone even at its cheap price. However, it gets cell service unlike my galaxy, so I have to deal with it. It also has bluetooth to connect with my car which is a standard, but handy feature."
Location: Huntingtown, MD 20639, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

it's alright

, September 18, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"It's an ok for for a kid under 10 to have as an emergency, I don't recommend this to have as a main phone.Battery is good candidate it charges really fast , it's worth your money though.I had thus phone for 6 months , and I realized problems with it the first week I got it.apps close constantly , a lot of lag and a few times I missed calls only because it froze when I was trying to answer , and the display is horrible with only a 360 by 240 pixels."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

This is not a phone; it's a piece of plastic that sometimes lets you contact people

, September 5, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: it sometimes lets you call and text people
Cons: constant lag, random shutdowns, atrocious battery life, inconsistent charging, text lag
"This was my first smartphone, but I regret buying it. On the lowest battery setting, I have to charge my battery to full twice a day--and I don't even text, call, or have my phone on very often. One night, I got home when my phone was dying and plugged it in. I woke up in the middle of the night and found the red button in the corner flashing at me. I took out the battery for a couple minutes, took out the cards, put everything back in, and tried again. It did the same thing. I tried a second charger. It did the same thing. Frustrated, I left it like that--and then, after five minutes, it decided to start charging. What???
This phone is evil, surrounded by plastic. I could be in the middle of a long and important text, and it'll shut itself off randomly. Games lag. GAMES. LAG. Games like Swing Copters, which don't seem to have heavy graphics, and even when I shut down every other program in Task manager. But that's not all that lags. The phone itself lags. A phone should never lag, except maybe when loading Internet pages. It sometimes takes two to three minutes to load the page of my apps, and I've maybe downloaded a total of ten apps since I bought it. Probably fewer.
The idea that people call this a phone is laughable. For the price, I suppose you can't expect the best phone ever. But you shouldn't have to worry about lag, random shutdowns, horrible battery life, inconsistent charging, and a seemingly infinite host of other problems I could spend an hour describing. Oh, and if you get this phone, if you're texting, the keys will lag beneath your touch. ALWAYS. You'll type four words, and it'll finish one of those--then it'll vibrate hard and vomit the rest of the words. You might find that you misspelled a few, but the delay is so long that it doesn't seem worth going back and editing the words.
I have not even had this phone for a year yet. It's been having these problems since a month after its purchase. I honestly miss having a phone that was not a smartphone, at this point."
Location: California, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Pre payed asking like a smart phone.

, October 13, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: good for texts, good for phonecalls
Cons: small amount of gbs
"I had a Iphone 4s, but the WIFI greyed out on me. I needed a phone for the meantime, till I was able to upgrade. This phone battery is short, the camera is good, but no flip camera. There isn't that much, Gigabytes so you have to, download the apps you need.I like the phone design, it has a modern slick look to it."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

This phone is the worst do not buy

, August 13, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery, slow, apps close
"This phone is slow, apps randomly close, its awful for multitasking and the keyboard randomly disappears while typing. Surfing the web is a nightmare. Don't buy save your money."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Worst Phone Ever

, August 11, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: horrible phone, easily dials the emergency number, freezes easily
"This phone should be recalled. The worst phone ever, easily bump the emergency button and it dials emergency number, I have had way to many, sorry its my phone, it dialed the number by accident, when I text someone and want to send a picture, it will send the last picture that I took and not the one I want to send, it scrambles my texts, freezes way to easily. Horrible phone, don't waste your money. I am surprise that this phone hasn't been recalled, with all the complaints."
Location: Allentown, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

If You don't mind waiting...

, July 25, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: cheap
Cons: slow
"When my LG Thrive broke after 2 years, I bought this. I didn't have a lot of money to spend and it was on sale. I use the Go Phone plans without contract. I am going to splurge next year and get something more up to speed. It is extremely slow and sluggish and the screen gets smudged very easily and affects response when you click icons and programs. You can buy a cover screen for this, but I don't like to use those. It is what it is...an entry level, low dollar, slow Android. The novice probably won't mind, but I need more speed. And all the preloaded apps you cannot remove are annoying."
Location: Lakeland, FL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

DO NOT BUT THE ZTE Avail 2

, July 16, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: freezes up, apps go crazy, keyboard just disappears while typing, slow
"The only good thing about this phone is that it is affordable when you are on a tight budget. I freezes up all the time, it goes from app to app when you do not want it too, when you are typing a text or comment on like facebook the keyboard just disappears and you can't bring it back up."
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Run away from this phone

, July 12, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: none
Cons: pretty much everything
"Very poor quality phone that doesn't even live up to extremely low price. Virtually impossible to text on. Touch screen extremely poor quality, doesn't sense touch command well. Poor battery life. Anything your looking for in a smartphone, this phone does not fulfill that need."
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

move on

, July 6, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Made the mistake of not reading the reviews on this Go-Phone. If you text, avoid this phone! Worst phone ever for texting. It does not predict user input well and you're constantly fiddling with your text message.
The battery life is also horrible.
Spend more money to get a good phone.
"
Location: Washington State
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Unsearchable calendar?! For starters

, July 6, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"1. Unsearchable calendar; didn't think this even existed.
2. Calculator w/no memory function; again, didn't think such a thing existed.
3. I can bearly see what I'm typing, as the zoom function isn't working
4. I'm having trouble writing this, as tje screen keeps jumping around, which ia typical for this phone.
5. Apps crash all the time.
6. I've had the phone 11 mos, & the radio function just stopped working.
This phone is a disgrace!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Junk

, June 29, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I purchased this phone June 26, 2014. Two days later, June 28, 2014, the phone would not turn on or off and the screen was blank. So much for the quality of this phone."
Location: PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

the worse phone ever

, July 31, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: everything
"do not buy the phone. I been using cell phone for 15 years. this is the worst phone ever. so sad that att makes this phones/"
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

good for the price

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: small & light, good price, good battery life and fast charge
Cons: not compatible with amazon app store, dust inside display, apps frequently crash, woke up in the middle of the night and called 911
"Good for the price. Good battery life and charges very fast on the adapter. Easy upgrade from my old dumb go phone just pop in the SIM. My biggest complaint was that it cannot download apps from the Amazon App Store. Amazon App Store installs and runs just fine but the apps themselves won't install. Amazon tech support said it was incompatible software on the device and they checked with ZTE (the manufacturer) and they have no plans to update it. Google Play works just fine. WiFi is so-so. It drops out nearer to the hot spot than other phones. But those are much more expensive phones. Calendar can't set a bi-weekly reminder but it does everything else."
Location: CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Not exactly my favorite AT&T phone.

, May 14, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: battery
Cons: lags, low camera quality, screen freezes, keyboard
"This phone is not for me. I've had it for about a week and it doesn't work like a new phone should. The screen freezes, the keyboard doesn't work half the time, it lags, the camera quality is that of a flip phone, and it constantly shuts me out of apps. The one thing I do like is the battery life, It can go two days without being charged. But overall, I regret purchasing this phone, and I will be sticking with Galaxy phones as soon as I get my next one."
Location: Hesperia, CA, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Beyond Terrible. Don't Buy. Enough said.

, April 21, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: none
Cons: the entire phone
"Texting is nearly impossible on this phone. Words like "you" "us" "bring" etc. aren't in its auto correct dictionary, but words like "honk kong" are..... I could go on, but just take it from me and everyone else. DONT waste your time buying this phone."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Not a good phone

, March 28, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: life of phone very limited (4-5 month range), not worth purchasing a data plan phone freezes up, phone is not worth the price
"I have had to exchange this phone out now three times in a years time. This phone is not a good phone or worth the money that is being asked for it. I won't even purchase data for this phone because it hardly works. The phone works great within the first month. After that, everything starts to slowly breakdown. The phone starts to freeze up and the touchpad starts to not work anymore. The phone eventually gets to the point where everything is glitching and one day it will just completely stop working. This is all within 4-5 months. I do not recommend this phone to anyone, it is nothing but a headache."
Location: Evansville, IN, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Hated it

, May 10, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I got this phone to hold me over till my contract was up because my regular phone was overheating and draining the battery. I should have stuck with my old phone!!!!"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

Battery Life, Etc. Abysmal - Do Not Buy

, March 26, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: design, alarms, weight
Cons: battery life, poor keyboard feature, freezes up, insensitive touchscreen, hardly vibrates when set to, wi-fi app easily confused, bloated operating system, difficult to disable battery-draining apps, 911 feature
"This phone started out fine. All was good for the first month. After that, I began to notice that the keyboard would freeze up whenever texting (even after disabling all Wi-Fi, bluetooth, lowering brightness, etc.) and that the whole phone would black out or return to the homescreen during even the simplest of tasks.
It has all the amenities of fancier smartphones (which is something I have avoided until now, an avoidance I very much plan on resuming), but...
The battery, oh woeful battery. What in the blue blazes is wrong with it? It got to the point that I had to charge the phone every night. Then I would take it fully charged to work and it would be dead by the time I was off. Now, as in just now, it dropped from 100 percent to 87 in less than twenty minutes. Does this not defeat the entire purpose of having a mobile phone?
I hate this phone. Don't buy it. Don't do to yourself what I have done."
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AT&T Avail (TM)2 - GoPhone® - Black

100% Satisfied :)

, May 5, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"True, I've only had this phone for two weeks, but I am 100% satisfied with it! It has all the features I need, plus more that I disabled (to save battery time). I have found the Avail 2 is easy to learn to use--the owner's manual efficiently explained anything I couldn't figure out on my own. The battery life is excellent for my needs. The display is bright, clear and of sufficient size to get done what needs to be done. I really like the portrait/landscape feature, am using that one quite a lot. The over-all design is great. I am happy with this phone!"
Location: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>