AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Combining the power of a smartphone with the ease of a tablet, the Samsung Galaxy Mega (TM) delivers compelling entertainment with expanded productivity features for work and play on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (200 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
192 of 200(96%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

DO NOT GET!!!!

, May 19, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Nobody get this phone. I have had three off them in the past month. The vibration stops working, the keybored doesn't pop up, the app store doesn't download things."
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

junk

, April 17, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I bought this phone and it was junk. Swapped it out for another one and it was junk as well. Way too many preinstalled apps that you cannot delete. Too small of a processor for such a large phone. Kept freezing, the keyboard would not pop up, and other minor glitches. Returned defective phone and had to pay a restocking fee. Went with LG OPTIMUS PRO. Much better phone."
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

mega

, April 2, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I love my phone I have had it since october 2013 and I have had no problems and like four people I know gt the phone after they saw mines so its a keeper!!!!!"
-11points
2out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Big phone

, August 4, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I loved my mega because it was HUGE. So huge it prevented me from texting and driving and that was important. No, it wasn't as fast and crispy clear like other Samsung devices but it was pretty close. I now have the Note 3 which I love more. Reason for that is the glass on the Mega literally breaks as easy as glass and I wouldn't have replaced it if the screen also stopped working with the huge device. I broke it 2 times within 3 months and both were 1 foot drops. So that also left the insurance company canceling my coverage. Good phone. But I couldn't afford it even with one of those bullet proof cases lol."
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Hate this phone

, June 3, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"This is the worst phone ever never had so many problems with a phone."
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Good phone if you can't afford the Galaxy Note 3 i guess?

, January 5, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"CONS
Very lowend display for such a large display
VERY VERY outdated processor and it SHOWS in the phones performance.
Odd model means likely little/no future support versus flagships like S4/Note 3
8MP camera about equal to the old S2 Skyrockets Camera
No S pen to help managing the large screen easier like the Note 3
Non Super AMOLED Display which is one of the biggest Pros of most Samsung phones.
Pros
Cheaper phone if the Note 3 is not affordable to you
Lots of screen space
Good battery life
All in all i can't recommend this phone...if budget is an issue stick to an older Note 2 as it's still better supported than this phone is. If budget is Not an issue go with the note 3 as the Mega is already Obsolete from a spec standard."
Location: Ayer MA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

The amount of RAM advertised is not correct.

, August 23, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I was at the ATT store this morning when they opened to look at this phone in live in person. I looked at the RAM and noticed that there was only 1.32 Gig while the posted data on this phone states that it has 1.5 Gig of RAM. The phone was using at least half of that barely running any programs. Clearing the memory did not lower the amount of RAM being used. It may be a good idea to consider this before purchasing this phone. Normal to even slightly above normal use of this phone could take it over the limit and cause issues."
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media August 28, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
-43points
8out of 59found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SCOTT1
New York
Posted August 30, 2013
I went from the galaxy note 1 to this phone and man was i amazed on how beatiful the device is. I was reading the "profesional" reviews about the phone and they all said it is a mid range phone but when you see this phone, there is nothing mid range about it. The sound is good, the speed is good, and the fact that is running on googles latest firmware makes it awsome. If you like large phones then this is the one for you. Fits in my pocket perfectly and is a eye popper to all that see you using it. Definitly worh the purchase if you like larger phones.
+8points
8out of 8found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Nice, so far so good..

, May 21, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I had this phone for the past 7 months n I haven't had any problems with it. It's easy to use I have no complaints. I'm about to upgrade to a new phone but if I don't like it im going back to my Mega..."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

OK

, April 16, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Display can be better. I do have a little issue opening apps, even with 4G and Wifi. Camera lags every now and then that leads me to restart the phone to reset the programs. Size is good for me. The camera app for the HD is awesome for me."
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

great but slow

, April 13, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I love the phone because it's big and that's perfect for me. The battery lasts me all day without a charge although by the time my day ends I'm walking in the door with 10% left better than nothing. The display is awesome, my calls never drop, but it's a little slow after unlocking it. I kind of want to send it back just because of that but I might work with it"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Mega

, April 7, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Gotta get one you will LOVE IT. Best phone I ever had."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

One Phone To Rule Them All

, March 10, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Pros:
Large, bright, expansive, 6.3" screen. Was even able to see it well in direct sunlight. Even video, despite the lower 720 HD instead of 1080 HD still looks pretty impressive.
Basically does double-duty as an 'on-the-go' tablet.
Regular (read non-mobile websites) display beautifully and nearly like they would on a regular laptop.
Video Camera records in 1080 HD (However, only playbacks in 720 HD, which is strange)
4G LTE was impressively fast for wireless internet. Out of box was hitting nearly 2mbps (note this may vary based on many different network factors, but overall I was more than satisfied with bandwidth throughput ).
Speakers were pretty decent for a smartphone and loud--even heard over noisy traffic (though, as with most smartphones lacked decent bass or treble).
8 MP smartphone photo camera is adequate, Samsung holds their own in this area.
Dual Core processor (Yeah, I know some are whining about this not being a 'quad-core' like the predecessor that will eventually replace it--but I had no issues with responsiveness of the phone/software out of box, even with all the bloatware pre-installed).
Logically placed volume buttons on left side.
Call volume and clarity was generally pretty decent
Cons:
While this might seem like a lot of cons, to be honest most of these 'cons' are really just minor annoyances or general techie observations--and certianly not deal-breakers. However, I feel they should be listed for ease of use, general knowledge of the device, or comparison to a similarly classed mid-range device.
The display resolution is lower than a high-end phone of same Galaxy class, but not as noticable as you might think.
Lockscreen button on right side as opposed to top like most Samsung, so you tend to grip it and turn the screen on and off abruptly.
Only playbacks in 720 HD, even though records in 1080.
Can be difficult to fit into some front pants/jeans pockets. Does better in jacket pockets, or handbags/purses, however.
Size can unwieldy if you are used to one-hand treatment on a regluar smartphone (however can easily program settings for more one-hand intuitive UI).
Has several pre-installed AT&T/Google bloatware apps that will be difficult to remove, and may or may not be useful to you depending on your needs as a user.
Only 1.9 MP webcam for Skype/Facetime, etc.
Taking battery cover off can be confusing and somewhat difficult. You have to pull it slightly open from a tab on the left, and then slowly peel the backing off from the top. Also, the backing piece is kinda cheap and thin plastic-looking/feeling, so I was very careful bout taking it off slowly as it was starting to bend abnormally."
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Great!

, November 8, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: batter power, easy to get use to, large screen, loud speaker
Cons: slower but not too much, power button in annoying spot
"It's a great phone. It's not as fast as some smaller ones but the slower speed doesn't bother me too much. It has great battery power and also has a cool larger screen. For me, at first, it was odd to have such a large phone. But I got use to it. It just seems, as I look at it now, to me, to be a regular size phone. I no longer see it as overly large. It's great to read books on! And has a good loud speaker. It took time though to get use to handling it. The power button is in a bad place and easy to turn off during a conversation. I no longer do that now. I know exactly how to handle it. Like riding a bike. Although when I let someone borrow it, they don't understand how to pick it up which is annoying."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Big Phone!!!!

, October 17, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: love the screen
Cons: none
"Just got this phone about 3 days ago and "man" it is big! I was a little nervous about how I would carry it around, but I got used to it. I traded my iphone 5 for it. I needed a bigger screen and got tired of waiting for Apple to deliver. This phone runs surprisingly smooth. It is fast and the battery last me all day.
Finding a case for it was not easy. Most likely will need to get a Bluetooth headset for it. Love the big screen!
"
Age: 56+
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Cant wait for the Mega2

, October 8, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: bigger is better, screen size, easy to use
Cons: battery life, white model needed
"I purchased this device on the launch day. I decided to wait to write my review to give an honest review. I had all the Note models as well as the LG G Pro. I absolutely love this device. I am never worried about size. In fact I am always one who thinks bigger is better. My only concern was with the RAM. I was afraid that 1.5 GH of ram may not make my phone as fast as my Note 2 or LG G Pro. I was wrong. I see no difference in speed or clarity. Although, some may say coming from a Note 2 to the Mega is a down grade. This is not true. I have over 100 apps on my Mega and it works perfect. I had to have my Mega replaced once. My phone was overheating so the wonderful people at at&t kindly replaced my device. So far so good.
The only issue that I am having is the battery. I have read every review on here for the Mega and almost everyone states that they get a full day or more on the battery. I find that really really really hard to believe. I wake up at 4am every day, my phone dies by 10am. I am constantly on my phone for work, so I had to purchase 2 extra batteries just to get through the day. Even if I kill all my running apps, even if the phone is in stand by mode the batter doesnt last as long as everyone is saying. I do not charge my phone until it gets to 1%, than I switch batteries and charge the used one. When I only had one battery I had to charge my Mega 3x throughout the day. I make a lot of calls and calendar entries. I use the web, but not really heavy usage, I do alot of texting and videos.
My advise to you if your thinking about getting this device. JUST DO IT. Big is better. I am so in love with my device. I wish it came in white. I cant wait for the Mega 2. Just buy extra batteries through Samsung."
Location: Ewa Beach, HI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Excepional, except battery life

, September 6, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: the screen is amazing for email readability, the display is crisp and clear, the camera is very good both still and video
Cons: the battery life is poor
"I went from iPone5 to Mega 6.3, I really like the Samsung, except the battery life is no where near the specs. I charged to 100% and with no usage overnight it was 56% by morning (7hrs). I have had this phone for 5 days and am charging everyday, battery life is poor, I am not a heavy user and in the time it took to write this review so far, the phone has gone from 93% to 90% just sitting next to me not in use.
I am having to learn the Android system and find that the iTunes was much more simple to use as opposed to searching several Android app sites to find what I use.
"
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lottie
Tn
Posted September 28, 2013
I would check to see what's running in the background. If you can do the "task killer" before bed, that would help. It's usually apps that are eating the battery life, not the phone itself. If it doesn't come with a built in task killer, you can check on the Play Store for options. Just a suggestion after working for AT&T for 5.5. years. Hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Saulzermeno85
San Antonio Tx
Posted September 8, 2013
The phones batter is great you might need to change settings but if I charge my phone one night next morning I still have about 57% and I use my phone ALOT! only thing that I have problems with is Group Play. Other than that my phone is perfect! !
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Samsung Galaxy mega 6.3 display

, September 8, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I c ompare this phone to the Samsung Note 3 and the results was fabulous this phone with a dual processor Clock at 1.72 Snapdragon is super quick It perform better than I expected It plays 2k14 basketball the samsung galaxy s3 would Not Play 2k14 it has a dual processor at 1.4 just too slow the mega is the phone to get that's all I have to say"
Location: state of Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Who needs a laptop

, August 1, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Great phone! All my relatives have traded in their iPhones for the Mega."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

Best Phone Ever!!!

, July 30, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Not only is this the best phone and never drops callas or sevice. I can uae this phone for all my school needs too. It's big enough and fast enough that I use it as a tablet most days. I absolutely love everything anout this phone!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Mega - Nova Black

excellent for me

, July 25, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: size, battery
Cons: few accessories
"The mega is a great phone for me, I have large hands and it's perfect for me when messaging or anything where I use the keyboard. The battery also seems to hold a good charge through out most of the day. My only dislike is the lack of accessories such as cases for the mega."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>