AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moto X - Black

Moto X - Black

If you can customize what you wear, the car you drive, why not do the same with your smartphone? With Moto X (TM), you choose from potentially thousands of unique combinations to make it truly yours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
64 of 73(88%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moto X - Black
Review 1 for Moto X - Black

Great first smartphone

, August 31, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: good battery life
"I'm in my 20s but I've never wanted/needed a smartphone and was a bit resigned to get one. I'm not picky--I don't need an HD display or a professional-quality camera--I needed the basics. So far I have been very happy with this phone. It allows me to connect with my gmail account and my GoogleDocs very easily, which is super helpful. I do have two issues: one that every text conversation is limited to 500 messages, and the other that it's a little big for my hand, but it's much smaller than others on the market! In all, great for someone who was skeptical about smartphones!"
Age: 18-25
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moto X - Black

I hate this phone

, August 19, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"This is the worst phone that I have ever owned! Continually locking up & freezing, opens apps without you commanding it to, googles stuff while in your pocket even after locking it. Battery doesn't last very long either. Nothing compared to any other Motorola that I have ever owned. It's just a piece of junk!!!!!"
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

If you're an iPhone user, don't make the switch.

, August 29, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: size, display, cost, can withstand being dropped
Cons: freezes, lags, needy, not user friendly
"After much debate and research I decided to ditch my iPhone 4s for this Android device in November '13. I was curious and I loved the "just right" size of the Moto X. Let me just begin by saying that Android devices are not user friendly.
The default messaging app is horrible, doesn't send or receive photos. I downloaded and settled on a third party messaging app, still horrible, but usable. This phone freezes constantly, opens apps at random. The spell check feature is pretty much useless. My biggest gripe is having to use an auxiliary cable to listen to music in the car, on top of the separate charger cord. Two cords, does not function with my steering wheel controls, again useless and defeating the purpose of "hands-free" in the car.
This is probably a nice feature for others, but the voice activated hands-free texting and commands in the car...annoying. I already drive in NJ (death wish), that's enough stress. I don't need my phone being another distraction by not even responding to voice commands. I'd rather wait and reach my destination before I deal with texts.
Everything about this phone is just an inconvenience. Constant pop-ups and preference reminders. It's needy. I guess I'm just biased with my Apple products. If you love iOS, do your homework before committing to this piece of garbage."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moto X - Black

Best phone i've ever had glad I made a switch

, July 1, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: battery life, call quality, apps, volume, movement speed, touchless control, design
Cons: cameras not bad
"I have only had about 2 or 3 smartphones and this one by far is the best one yet... i'm not really an Android guy but this phone has been perfect, it's touchless control is good but responds to things in songs and random things but don't bother me. the call quality is amazingly clear and just everything about this phone is amazing, it responds nicely and keeps up with your pace.
the battery is good and doesn't die until being on 2% for about 20mins the phone can last me about a day and half most times, the apps handle well and don't really stop, on another note the phone has a really good speaker it's very loud and the phone is very nice to hold, it has somewhat of a grip to it for that extra protective feel. I LOVE my Moto X and I plan on keeping it for a while, I customized mine so make sure you do that for $50 and a 2 year. Hope you like your Moto X :)
"
Location: Michigan City, IN, USA
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moto X - Black

best phone

, August 4, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Great price cheaper than the Samsung and more features."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Just Go Ahead and Get It

, July 17, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Awesome phone. Display is super sharp and battery life is pretty good. I've never had an android before and learned how to do everything in about a day. Feels great in the hand. Active display and touchless control are great additions. No problems at all."
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Was on the fence but,

, July 1, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Was with another carrier and switched. Was hesitant about Motorola because of my past endeavors with them long ago! Just put my HTC One away with a great deal of sadness. Picked this phone because of the free cost and was worried about the dual core processor not keeping up to my HTC but, let me tell you I've now been using this phone for a day now and it has exceeded my expectations. Well done Motorola! Its super fast and easy to use since I was already with an android phone and I love the features on this phone. I'm a new fan of the moto x. The screen size is the same as the HTC One as well though not as bulky and feels great in the hand without the excessive casing as some of the bigger phones! Awesome phone, I'm glad I was adventurous and took a chance on the Moto X!"
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moto X - Black

first smart phone

, May 17, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This is my first smart phone and it is fantastic it is easy to use and the touch less features rock. Never been a big technology buff. But I'm glad I made the switch."
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Good phone

, June 19, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Its a very good phone.....
I like the phone very much
"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

The moto x is a great all around phone but,

, June 2, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"The moto x is a great all around phone but there is only one problem I came across. The phone is so slick you would need to purchase a case for it. It slipped out of my hands the first week I had it and the screen busted other than that the phone is great!"
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Great phone for the price

, May 30, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"So I lost my Nexus 5 and needed a quick replacement. This phone was inexpensive and had great online reviews. So far I am very happy with the phone. I love that it is close to stock android, and have used all of the moto x enhancements. I love the active display. It really is game changing and it save battery life. When I am in my car it will know I am driving and read text messages aloud to me. I have used the "ok google now" activation plenty and it works ok. I hate talking to my phone to tell it to do stuff, but I do ask it to call my wife, open an app, and I can dictate a text message to it successfully. The phone is fast, and responsive andbattery life is better than any android phone I have had: nexus 5 and galaxy s3. I am committed to google music and streaming music so the 16gig size works well. The phone is built very well. It feels good in the hand and I like the size. The overall dimensions seem close to my wife's iphone 5s but with the bigger screen of course. Now sporting a cruzerlite case which adds little bulk and protects the phone nicely. Overall I am happy with this phone. Wish I could have used moto-maker but my options were limited due to having to upgrade a month early. Only gripe is the screen color. The nexus 5 has beautiful natural colors, this display is very saturated. So candy crush for example was giving me a headache. I have gotten used to it since but it was a little shocking initially."
Location: Plainview, NY, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moto X - Black

nothing compares

, April 10, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"The greatest phone ever. A handful of beautiful features that are executed so well make this phone the best. Active Display alone has quite frankly ruined the possibility of any other phone ever satisfying me. Sure, you could buy a Samsung or apple and get more pixels, more bits/cores, and more features (read "gimmicks"), but I choose to have a couple of well-thought out and reliable features that truely revolutionize the way I interact with and use my phone all day long. Motorola has really done an amazing job, I can't say enough good things about the phone. I am absolutely in love."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moto X - Black

wow

, April 9, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This is literally the coolest thing I've ever owned. I run pandora and Need for speed at the same time. It will crash here and there because I have too many things open but still. Would recommend 100% if you want to have an awesome all capable phone. I got a phone call writing this. And it all came back up seamlessly ."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

best phone

, May 21, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"i found a phone that meets my needs
if you want a great phone this is the phone to get
i will be getting the new moto x when it comes
"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Love This Phone

, May 19, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: battery life, design your own
"The battery life is excellent, I run Pandora all day at work without plugging in the phone, plus I also go on Facebook and play games during lunch and my battery is generally at about 40% (after about 9 hours). I like the touchless features on the phone, I sometimes have a problem with starting it, but I think that is because I do not use a Bluetooth headset. I wish that the camera shake to open worked more often, but it is a good feature. The fact that you can design your own is awesome, I made mine pink, white and blue. All in all I think that this is a great phone, and I would recommend it to anyone."
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

Better than iphone!!

, May 17, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This is by far the best phone I have ever had! Don't waste your money on an iPhone."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moto X - Black

THIS PHONE IS HORRIBLE!

, March 29, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"This phone is quite possibly the worst phone I've ever owned. There is no place for an SD card. If you want to set a photo as your wallpaper make sure the picture was taken far away because you can't make the entire pic your wallpaper. It doesn't come with an app to hold your music. After you download the app your supposed to already have so you can listen to your music, you can't use any of those songs as a ringtone/ notification tone. Yeah, your stuck with the horrible tones that come with this awful phone. You can't take the back off so when the phone freezes up for no reason and won't let you go to the home screen or press anything or turn it off, you can't take the battery out. Your forced to just sit there and stare at it until it eventually shuts itself down. Then all the pics you took with it will be gone. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!"
-29points
6out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moto X - Black

Great phone and features

, March 21, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: style, size, features
"I have had my Moto X for a few weeks now and I love it. The features are excellent and all work well. Battery life is very good and better than expected. New software version has a bug for wifi but it is manageable until is is resolved via an update. The screen is sometimes are hard to see when out in bright sunlight. Overall, I am very pleased with my phone and the features"
Location: Greenville, SC, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

simplicity

, May 3, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This phone is the best I ever had. And I've had a lot tof them. Its good looking, easy to handle, and easy to use. Its slightly bigger than an iPhone 5 and the screen is .7 bigger. With the same number of pixels. Using almost stock android, its easy to understand and blazing fast."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moto X - Black
This review is from Moto X - White.

really happy with my phone

, May 2, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I have had my phone for several months and had no problems and battery life is amazing."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>