AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

The Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active (TM) is ready for anything.Control your TV, erase photo distractions, or view files without touching the screen.Built water and dust resistant, based on IP67 certification, the Galaxy S 4 Active is made to keep up with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.751 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
36
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
23
115 of 168(68%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Not waterproof!!

, August 4, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Horrible phone! Not waterproof by any means! Accidental jump in the pool as soon as I realized it was in my pocket I removed it, back button on the 3 hard press buttons on the front no longer works. Everything was closed tightly like recommended. Now I cannot get a new one even with insurance because insurance does not cover water damage on a supposedly water proof phone. Do not buy!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Worst phone ever

, July 22, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Display limited in adjustment. Only good on brightest setting. Speaker is terrible. Only one speaker in back. Must cup hand behind it to amplify sound. Take hand away sound level drops. Back of phone vibrates horribly from sound from built in speaker. Or, from incoming call voice. My guess it's because the back is suspended on gaskets to provide water-tight feature. Squeezing power button is hard to do without pressing volume button. Accelerometer is SLOW to react. I have to shake phone to get display to react repeatedly."
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Great Phone

, July 8, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: durable
Cons: over heats, fuzzy camera
"had this pone over a year and cracked the screen but never got it fixed. the crack has not gottten bigger or cut my fingers once like and iphone would. camera is sometimes fuzzy but i dont pictures much so it doesnt bother me."
Location: Anchorage, Ak
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Gone thru 4 replacements in 9 mos

, August 21, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Worst phone EVER! This phone has a notorious problem seating the SIM card. Unless I turn the phone off and on again several times a day I cannot receive texts OR calls or make them. Each time I get to the point where I have to do this 5 times a day, I take it in to AT&T support and they give me a new phone & Sim card b/c it is a flaw in manufacturing & can't be fixed. It's like buying a new car that doesn't get you to work half the time.
Also, as I've been in support AL OR I hear how the phone isn't covered by warranty if it gets wet. (Not waterproof & even tho they sell it as an active phone that can go underwater- If the back wasn't pressed hard enough or the port closed... just out of luck because IT IS NOT ALLOWED TO GET WET.
I just wish I had purchased a phone that receives calls & texts because half the time this one does not. (Not a coverage issue- a design flaw. 4G & often can't make a call unless I reboot.)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Love it

, July 4, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Read some of the bad reviews on this and I'm not sure why people are having problems with it. I love this phone. Takes great pictures. Fat Internet. Fast everything really. Great battery life and charges fast with the proper charger. An overall phenomenal phone. The 5 doesn't seem like it has anything on thia phone. I don't like the looks, colors or the reviews on it so I'm contemplating just buying a new 4 because this one has some dents from dropping it so much. Even after dropping it down ladders and in pavement it still works great and doesn't even look that bad if you think about what I have done to the poor thing. I've had this phone overror a year now and not had any problems."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

All phones cellphones have flaws

, June 30, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Cons: battery life
"Had phone for a week now ordered two for myself and husband. Really like the phones so far have not had any problems. We use the phones for strictly talking not too much for anything else."
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

too many problems

, June 28, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I had an s3 before i had the s4 active and i never had any of the problems with the s3 that i have with the s4 active. The internet is slow and sometimes wont load pages. it goes to thinkgs i didnt click on and after i close a page sometimes i pops back open. my pics are blurry half the time when they shouldnt be. it is set to automatically download pic messages but sometimes it doesnt and when i click download it will say "currently unavailble to download. please try again later." Sometimes when sending a pic message it will say "wireless network not available" and ill have to restart my phone to make it send. it seems to use more data even though i use it the same amount as always and internet never closes even when i back out of it so i have to force stop it. i never had any of these problems with my s3 but i am not satisfied with the s4 active."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY IT!

, June 23, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Good phone, but too many problems. The worst problem is: If you like to be on the phone playing games, watching videos, downloading something, listening to the music for over 20 (yes, TWENTY) minutes, both - display and the back of the phone overheat to the extent when you would have a chance to fry eggs on top! I have a couple of good adult games I like to play. So If I dedicate myself playing for an hour for example, I have to cool down my Galaxy 4 Active in the freezer. Yes, you heard me right. In the freezer"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Owned for a year and still working great

, June 19, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I purchased this phone almost exactly a year ago. I went with the active because I work in a hot and dusty environment. I have never used a case on my phone because I find them to bulky to carry in my pocket. This phone has been dropped, hit, and submerged many times. Maybe I have been lucky because the only signs of abuse are the scratches on the Chrome trim that goes around the outside edge of the phone.
The only issues I've had with the phone are as follows:
1) The screen behaves oddly or just doesn't respond at all when it gets even a little moisture on it.
2) The physical home button would unlock my phone in my pocket. It took me a few days to figure this out but it's a software issue that I worked around.
3) Every once in a while the battery will just run down rapidly even after reboot. Normally it lasts a full day with normal use.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

I Love it

, June 14, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I had mine for almost a year now. Mine 2 yr old son plays on it and I have not had any problems with it. He watches netflixs all the time. he plays games on it. yes he has dropped it many of times"
Location: Dilley, TX 78017, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Poor Design

, May 30, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Device heats up, LCD produces blue lines in 80° weather. Display causes blue and gray lines under heat. Overall terrible for being two months old."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Fragile screen

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I had my S4 Active for OVER a year and nothing was wrong with it. It takes beautiful pictures, never hesitant in anything. This phone is seriously water proof BUT you have to make sure the battery flap and all the presses click in the back. I've had the phone under water countless times and it still works fine :) never had a problem with this phone. I really SUGGEST that you get an otter box or a trident case. I personally like the trident case it was cheaper and has the same durability. When I was switching the phone from my otter box to my trident case, the phone was hit out of my hand and fell on the hard wood floor from a bar stool height. Screen is completely shattered but it still works with out a problem! Upgrading to the S5 soon. Keeping this one just in case it's not as good. This phone really is awesome, and I will recommend it to any one!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Easily broken

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Our family purchased four of these phones back in March. This phone is listed as an active phone, can resist water but it really isn't for anybody with an active lifestyle. We all have cases on our phones. One phone was dropped within two days and the screen cracked. My husband dropped his last night and the screen shattered. Doesn't hold up for anybody who is actually active.
The service is unreliable. The recipient of the phone call tells us we sound muffled."
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Fragile

, May 13, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Definitely not an active phone. dropped from waist high and shattered screen. I heard samsung changed the glass for this model. bad choice. you have been warned"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Galaxy S4 Active not always waterproof

, May 11, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: waterproof
Cons: not waterproof
"Great phone, but.....should be advertized as water-resistant. DO NOT go swimming with it! At least 7 individual clips and covers on the back must be exactly right for it to be watertight. When it does flood, it is catastrophic, as with any other phone. If you are very careful, it works well, so you can be safe on a kayak or by the pool (or dropping into a toilet). Just don't push your luck. Good first try, Samsung. Next model, have redundant seals, so the connectors and battery compartment could flood, and still have the phone survive."
Location: Miami Beach, FL, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Overall Pleased

, June 23, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I've had this phone for a few months now and feel I've tested everything out enough for a review. I got this device a week before the S5 was released. I chose this phone instead of waiting a week for the new release because I thought the features were still better. I.e. under water photos. Though I've been too afraid to use that feature and is still the only one I haven't tried yet. The reason for this is, when I used the phone in the shower to test the water proof, it started wigging out and wouldn't scroll properly. Was switching screens and using functions on it's own until it eventually froze. Water proof or not, electronics just don't mix with water.
The only other cons I would say are the battery life, if you're a heavy user. The phone gets hot while charging. Also the screen is too sensitive at times. I've had to turn off a lot of the cool features because they seem to only work when I don't want them to. For example, if I try to auto scroll it won't work, but if I'm doing something important suddenly it will work and I lose my place. And when I try to take a screen shot with my palm it never works but when I don't want to, it takes a screen shot. Kind of frustrating. Lastly the memory is very limited. My last phone was a Samsung Infuse (same specs as Galaxy s2 w/ a slightly bigger screen) and in 2 years I never reached the memory capacity or got a memory full notification. Within 2 months of owning this device I ran out of memory just by recording a couple videos. So I have to delete them as I go and can't keep any vids, which is kind of a downfall.
As for the pros, there are too many to list but I really like that I can watch almost any video on any website or app. Which I could not do on my last phone. Also, that I can download any app without getting the "not compatible with this device" message. There are a lot of cool features, too many to list...but let me just say, if you're an iPhone user looking to convert, this phone has all the same features and then some."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

This phone was deeply flawed right from the start

, June 12, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I purchased this phone less than a year ago, and almost a year later it's a goner.
Within weeks of purchasing this phone, the wall charger died. Minor detail, but still annoying considering how much we pay for these phones. But, no big deal, replacements are cheap.
Within months of purchasing this phone, I noticed that images were getting burned into the screen. It was bad and completely obvious. I would take photos and look at them afterwards and realize the picture was difficult to make out because of all the different burnt in images poking their way into the foreground.
I was also very put off by how hot the screen got from time to time. Then today I went to charge the phone, noticed how warm it was after some time, took it off the charger, and when I went to use it later I realized the phone wouldn't turn on. It's totally done for.
I've loved all my Samsung products in the past. This one on the other hand totally bummed me out. I'll be hesitant before buying another Samsung phone in the future."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Bad choice

, June 4, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I had a galaxy 2 and loved it. I recently purchased a galaxy 4. My worst decision ever. I have never been so unhappy with a cell phone before. It get really hot, the battery dies fast. It's too sensitive; if you're on the phone and your ear is too close to the phone you will disconnect your caller or place them on hold. The phone dropped on a rug and the screen cracked. Now I have to pay for a replacement. I had dropped my galaxy 2 plenty of time and nothing ever happened to it. I can't wait to get rid of this phone."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

loving it

, March 30, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Galaxy active love it. Love the fact the numbers are on the keyboard now. It's great"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Clunky and unreliable

, March 19, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I have had Samsung Android phones in the past, and thought the S4 Active would be a perfect fit for me. I loved the UI of the S2 but the S4 has multiple issues.
Speech to Text is unusable
Keyboard is inaccurate and sometimes just starts adding letters/spaces to words
Locks up quite often
Delays between screens are maddening
Incredible amount of bloatware on the phone
I do like the display, but the"
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>