AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

The Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active (TM) is ready for anything.Control your TV, erase photo distractions, or view files without touching the screen.Built water and dust resistant, based on IP67 certification, the Galaxy S 4 Active is made to keep up with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (194 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
37
3 stars
28
2 stars
16
1 star
24
130 of 189(69%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Awesome phone BUT...

, August 29, 2014
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I bought this phone for my teenage son thinking it would hold up to a teenager. Well, I ordered it off the AT&T website and received it promptly. Under 48 hours later I noticed little hairline cracks in the screen. The only reason I noticed them, was because the sun hit it just right. I called AT&T and told them and they agreed to replace it. 5 days after we got the new one the screen was broke again. This is supposed to have an awesome screen that is hard to break and be waterproof and virtually indestructible. I was incredibly disappointed in the quality, especially because it is a samsung. Now as far as features and ease of use and such, it is amazing. Just really disappointed in the screen."
Location: Utah, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Not waterproof!!

, August 4, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Horrible phone! Not waterproof by any means! Accidental jump in the pool as soon as I realized it was in my pocket I removed it, back button on the 3 hard press buttons on the front no longer works. Everything was closed tightly like recommended. Now I cannot get a new one even with insurance because insurance does not cover water damage on a supposedly water proof phone. Do not buy!"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
This review is from Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Dive Blue.

Great rugged phone

, September 10, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: good rugged phone, good camera, expandable memory, replaceable batteries
Cons: seems to have slightly poorer reception than my ip, gimmicky extra features that drain battery, latest android software has added a bit of lag
"I bought this phone as a replacement for my iPhone 4s. I am a high mileage runner (up to 90 miles per week) and my iPhone paid the price. Even though I had it in waterproof cases, it corroded internally. Sweat always found a way in. I decided to give the S4 Active a try due to it's promised water resistance. In short, it has excelled in that arena. I've never had a single glitch due to moisture. Overall, it's been a great phone to use. At first, I had to come to terms with the fact that it wasn't an iPhone. But once I got used to it, it functions just as good as the iPhone does for what I need it for most. The camera is great, as well."
Location: Shreveport, LA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Worst phone ever

, July 22, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Display limited in adjustment. Only good on brightest setting. Speaker is terrible. Only one speaker in back. Must cup hand behind it to amplify sound. Take hand away sound level drops. Back of phone vibrates horribly from sound from built in speaker. Or, from incoming call voice. My guess it's because the back is suspended on gaskets to provide water-tight feature. Squeezing power button is hard to do without pressing volume button. Accelerometer is SLOW to react. I have to shake phone to get display to react repeatedly."
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
This review is from Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Dive Blue.

Won't charge!

, September 4, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Soon after getting my phone I stopped being able to use any charger to having to use the charger that came with the phone or it just wouldn't charge. To get a full charge I have to turn phone off & let it charge all night. It doesn't hold a charge for very long, runs down very quickly. If you are charging phone & using it- it won't charge & runs out of charge even quicker. This phone has not been dropped or damaged. The screen has been good without any protection on it. My S2 & S3 were much better. I won't get an active again."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
This review is from Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Dive Blue.

Would not recommend this phone

, September 2, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Poor design for a so called active phone, mine fell less than a foot and the display broke, a couple months later I get the "no sim card found" error and I have a useless brick, Of course I'm just out of the one year warranty so I now have to get something besides a Samsung.
Too many canned apps come with this phone (ATT aps) and hog the memory, you cant remove them and they constantly want to get updates. I don't think I ever used any of the pre installed nonsense. I want a browser and play store, nothing else! I pay for the phone so I should decide what is on it."
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Great Phone

, July 8, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: durable
Cons: over heats, fuzzy camera
"had this pone over a year and cracked the screen but never got it fixed. the crack has not gottten bigger or cut my fingers once like and iphone would. camera is sometimes fuzzy but i dont pictures much so it doesnt bother me."
Location: Anchorage, Ak
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
This review is from Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Dive Blue.

Gone thru 4 replacements in 9 mos

, August 21, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Worst phone EVER! This phone has a notorious problem seating the SIM card. Unless I turn the phone off and on again several times a day I cannot receive texts OR calls or make them. Each time I get to the point where I have to do this 5 times a day, I take it in to AT&T support and they give me a new phone & Sim card b/c it is a flaw in manufacturing & can't be fixed. It's like buying a new car that doesn't get you to work half the time.
Also, as I've been in support AL OR I hear how the phone isn't covered by warranty if it gets wet. (Not waterproof & even tho they sell it as an active phone that can go underwater- If the back wasn't pressed hard enough or the port closed... just out of luck because IT IS NOT ALLOWED TO GET WET.
I just wish I had purchased a phone that receives calls & texts because half the time this one does not. (Not a coverage issue- a design flaw. 4G & often can't make a call unless I reboot.)"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Love it

, July 4, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Read some of the bad reviews on this and I'm not sure why people are having problems with it. I love this phone. Takes great pictures. Fat Internet. Fast everything really. Great battery life and charges fast with the proper charger. An overall phenomenal phone. The 5 doesn't seem like it has anything on thia phone. I don't like the looks, colors or the reviews on it so I'm contemplating just buying a new 4 because this one has some dents from dropping it so much. Even after dropping it down ladders and in pavement it still works great and doesn't even look that bad if you think about what I have done to the poor thing. I've had this phone overror a year now and not had any problems."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

All phones cellphones have flaws

, June 30, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Cons: battery life
"Had phone for a week now ordered two for myself and husband. Really like the phones so far have not had any problems. We use the phones for strictly talking not too much for anything else."
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

too many problems

, June 28, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I had an s3 before i had the s4 active and i never had any of the problems with the s3 that i have with the s4 active. The internet is slow and sometimes wont load pages. it goes to thinkgs i didnt click on and after i close a page sometimes i pops back open. my pics are blurry half the time when they shouldnt be. it is set to automatically download pic messages but sometimes it doesnt and when i click download it will say "currently unavailble to download. please try again later." Sometimes when sending a pic message it will say "wireless network not available" and ill have to restart my phone to make it send. it seems to use more data even though i use it the same amount as always and internet never closes even when i back out of it so i have to force stop it. i never had any of these problems with my s3 but i am not satisfied with the s4 active."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY IT!

, June 23, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Good phone, but too many problems. The worst problem is: If you like to be on the phone playing games, watching videos, downloading something, listening to the music for over 20 (yes, TWENTY) minutes, both - display and the back of the phone overheat to the extent when you would have a chance to fry eggs on top! I have a couple of good adult games I like to play. So If I dedicate myself playing for an hour for example, I have to cool down my Galaxy 4 Active in the freezer. Yes, you heard me right. In the freezer"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Owned for a year and still working great

, June 19, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I purchased this phone almost exactly a year ago. I went with the active because I work in a hot and dusty environment. I have never used a case on my phone because I find them to bulky to carry in my pocket. This phone has been dropped, hit, and submerged many times. Maybe I have been lucky because the only signs of abuse are the scratches on the Chrome trim that goes around the outside edge of the phone.
The only issues I've had with the phone are as follows:
1) The screen behaves oddly or just doesn't respond at all when it gets even a little moisture on it.
2) The physical home button would unlock my phone in my pocket. It took me a few days to figure this out but it's a software issue that I worked around.
3) Every once in a while the battery will just run down rapidly even after reboot. Normally it lasts a full day with normal use.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

I Love it

, June 14, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I had mine for almost a year now. Mine 2 yr old son plays on it and I have not had any problems with it. He watches netflixs all the time. he plays games on it. yes he has dropped it many of times"
Location: Dilley, TX 78017, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Poor Design

, May 30, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Device heats up, LCD produces blue lines in 80° weather. Display causes blue and gray lines under heat. Overall terrible for being two months old."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Fragile screen

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I had my S4 Active for OVER a year and nothing was wrong with it. It takes beautiful pictures, never hesitant in anything. This phone is seriously water proof BUT you have to make sure the battery flap and all the presses click in the back. I've had the phone under water countless times and it still works fine :) never had a problem with this phone. I really SUGGEST that you get an otter box or a trident case. I personally like the trident case it was cheaper and has the same durability. When I was switching the phone from my otter box to my trident case, the phone was hit out of my hand and fell on the hard wood floor from a bar stool height. Screen is completely shattered but it still works with out a problem! Upgrading to the S5 soon. Keeping this one just in case it's not as good. This phone really is awesome, and I will recommend it to any one!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Easily broken

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Our family purchased four of these phones back in March. This phone is listed as an active phone, can resist water but it really isn't for anybody with an active lifestyle. We all have cases on our phones. One phone was dropped within two days and the screen cracked. My husband dropped his last night and the screen shattered. Doesn't hold up for anybody who is actually active.
The service is unreliable. The recipient of the phone call tells us we sound muffled."
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Fragile

, May 13, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Definitely not an active phone. dropped from waist high and shattered screen. I heard samsung changed the glass for this model. bad choice. you have been warned"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray

Galaxy S4 Active not always waterproof

, May 11, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: waterproof
Cons: not waterproof
"Great phone, but.....should be advertized as water-resistant. DO NOT go swimming with it! At least 7 individual clips and covers on the back must be exactly right for it to be watertight. When it does flood, it is catastrophic, as with any other phone. If you are very careful, it works well, so you can be safe on a kayak or by the pool (or dropping into a toilet). Just don't push your luck. Good first try, Samsung. Next model, have redundant seals, so the connectors and battery compartment could flood, and still have the phone survive."
Location: Miami Beach, FL, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Urban Gray
This review is from Samsung Galaxy S 4 Active - Dive Blue.

Overall Pleased

, June 23, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I've had this phone for a few months now and feel I've tested everything out enough for a review. I got this device a week before the S5 was released. I chose this phone instead of waiting a week for the new release because I thought the features were still better. I.e. under water photos. Though I've been too afraid to use that feature and is still the only one I haven't tried yet. The reason for this is, when I used the phone in the shower to test the water proof, it started wigging out and wouldn't scroll properly. Was switching screens and using functions on it's own until it eventually froze. Water proof or not, electronics just don't mix with water.
The only other cons I would say are the battery life, if you're a heavy user. The phone gets hot while charging. Also the screen is too sensitive at times. I've had to turn off a lot of the cool features because they seem to only work when I don't want them to. For example, if I try to auto scroll it won't work, but if I'm doing something important suddenly it will work and I lose my place. And when I try to take a screen shot with my palm it never works but when I don't want to, it takes a screen shot. Kind of frustrating. Lastly the memory is very limited. My last phone was a Samsung Infuse (same specs as Galaxy s2 w/ a slightly bigger screen) and in 2 years I never reached the memory capacity or got a memory full notification. Within 2 months of owning this device I ran out of memory just by recording a couple videos. So I have to delete them as I go and can't keep any vids, which is kind of a downfall.
As for the pros, there are too many to list but I really like that I can watch almost any video on any website or app. Which I could not do on my last phone. Also, that I can download any app without getting the "not compatible with this device" message. There are a lot of cool features, too many to list...but let me just say, if you're an iPhone user looking to convert, this phone has all the same features and then some."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>