AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

A more FUN smartphone! High end innovations made affordable on a 4¿ super sensitive touch screen with Nokia Lenses, Cinemagraph, Smartshoot and or capture super wide-angled pictures to take in more of the scene.
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
9
60 of 81(74%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

The best value out there

, July 24, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: full smarthphone experience, lightweight, great battery life, very few compromises, fun and social
Cons: no flash on the camera
"This is a full-featured smartphone:
* GPS with offline (and online) turn-by-turn Navigation
* Windows Phone 8 Store with apps
* Netflix
* Facebook, twitter, whatsapp etc.
* Podcast and mp3 player
* Camera and video capability
I could go on - but whatever a smartphone does - this does. You won't get anything better than this for close to this price. This is AMAZING value.
This is the only inexpensive smartphone worth buying."
Location: Appleton, WI, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+48points
55out of 62found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Angelp
LaPorte
Posted September 30, 2013
I love the phone But if you have a small business and need apps. This phone can't get apps because windows don't support them. Still having a hard time finding a phone with att. I like and will work what I need. Wish windows would fix this problem.... :(
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Already Using It and Its Awesome

, July 25, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"The Best Phone You can get at this price.Unbeatable Nokia Quality coupled with Snapdragon Krait Processors and Windows Phone 8 OS."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Great bang for the buck

, July 26, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: great price, good build quality, easy to use, matches many features of pricier phones
Cons: camera lacks a flash
"This isn't a high-end luxury phone, but you won't find a better phone for this price. I've owned several entry-level prepaid Android phones, and this Nokia blows them away. Good build quality, runs fast and smooth, and Windows Phone is very easy to use. If you're on a budget but still want to enjoy the power and convenience of a smartphone, this is the one for you."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Best smartphone value

, July 27, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: lightweight fast os, high build quality for price point, value
Cons: lack of camera flash, app market not as robust as with ios or android
"You won't get more value for your money from any other smartphone. This phone runs smoother than any entry level Android phone I have use, and in fact runs nearly as fast as the Lumia 920 flagship phone. Even devices costing twice as much can't beat it.
This phone makes a great replacement for a lost, stolen, or broken phone, or as a first smartphone to someone upgrading from a "dumb phone."
The most notable manner in which they cut cost is the screen, which is not of high pixel count, but hey, it's a budget phone. Also the lack of a camera flash may be important to some, but not me.
The number of key apps from the Android and iOS platforms missing in Windows Phone is shrinking rapidly."
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Age: 26-35
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Excellent phone and good price

, August 4, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: cost, quality, features, ease of use, go phone
"This phone does it all at a great price point. Easy to use and good quality. You have the added benefit of a no-contact, pre-paid plan. The best I've personally experienced. I highly recommend it."
Location: SoCal
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Best No Contract Phone Available. Period.

, August 4, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Be careful getting an Android with Honeycomb or even Pre Honeycomb versions.
Most of the new Droid apps do not work with Droid flavors from 2 years ago, which is what you get with these no contract droids.
I had to learn this the hard way..."
Location: Mountain View, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
-6points
9out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Great smart phone

, August 6, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: nice build quality, nokia name, 8gb of memory right out of the box, good picture quality, good audio quality
Cons: battery life could be a little better
"I lost my HTC One X about a month ago, so I needed a replacement phone (No insurance). I bought a ZTE Z431 at Target and used this for a while. Missed the use of a smart phone though, so I returned the Z431. I saw the Lumia 520 at the AT&T store over the weekend, and could not believe the price. I purchased the phone on the spot, and I am finding that I really like the Lumia 520. I love the size of the phone, it is very compact. The HTC One X stuck out of my shirt pocket. To my surprise, I do not miss the 4.5" screen, and I find the 4" one on this phone quite adequate. The audio is clear, and it takes great outdoor photos. AND, I love Windows Phone 8. I have used all 3 phone OS's, and find the WIndows Phone OS to be the best so far. It has a nice clean intuitive user interface, and is very responsive. The live tiles is the greatest. Forget all the talk about it not having the software support yet. It is up and coming, and the software will eventually be there. But for now, it has all the software I need, like facebook, ebay, Youtube, and Pandora. Buy one, you can't go wrong."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Best budget smartphone, hands down

, August 7, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: inexpensive, powerful, practical, attractive, windows 8, nokia phone, 4g, able to be customized, easy to use, no loss of features due to low price
Cons: camera doesn't have flash
"Windows 8, Nokia, At&t service, 4g....what more can anyone ask for in an inexpensive but powerful smart phone? Thanks, AT&T!"
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Full Smartphone experience for a low, low price

, August 11, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: swiftness, beautiful ui, excellent built quality, pleasing phone design
Cons: screen glare outdoors, i guess the lack of flash
"I used to own a Nokia E72, pre-smartphone era. It was a fantastic phone full of features and extremely well built. I switched to the IPhone when Nokia got lost in the wilderness. Got my 520 and truly I don't miss my IPhone 4 at all. The OS is fast and intuitive. The quality built is quite good for a entry-level smartphone. And frankly, I have been able to find all manners of suitable apps for it.
Don't get me wrong, Apple makes fantastic products. It is just that this humble Nokia is able to provide an equally satisfying experience for a lot less money. It you are sitting in the fence with regards to the Windows Phone OS my advice is to go ahead and take the plunge. Nokia just made it so much easier to test the waters."
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

, August 14, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"There should be an option to turn off the vibration on the back, home, and search "buttons"."
Location: Bridgeport, NY, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

, August 19, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I just got this phone and its turned to be a great buy. i dont see other smart phones that compare for the money. maybe not for the typical phone geeks... but a great phone all together..."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

The BEST Smartphone value on Earth!

, August 19, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: very cool phone, windows 8 is amazing, well made, smooth operation
"I just bought my Nokia Lumina 520 a week ago and I cannot believe what an outstanding value this phone is - it is simply amazing! This phone is a well made minimalist style powerhouse with a vastly underrated Windows 8 OS - It works flawlessly. This phone has all the basic functions of any smartphone and it's done just right. I don't need a flash or 1080 def video. The size fits perfectly in my hand. The crisp screen and cool "tiles" make this OS special. You can rearrange them, make them bigger or smaller - really cool. The speaker phone is very good as is the very decent speaker when playing music. I dare anyone to find a better smart phone at a better price - with 4G coverage - not happening. This phone rocks!"
Location: Hollywood, FL, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
danny63
n.j.
Posted December 5, 2013
this phone will take you for the best ride for your money very pleased I took my time checking this phone out
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

best prepaid phone out there..

, August 26, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This definetly is the best phone and plan for budget minded consumers. The Windows Phone software provides an easy to use entry into the smartphone arena. Nokia's harware is durable and made with pride. I owned the Lumia 928 and other than a higher grade camera this phone is comparable on every other level."
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

, September 2, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: 4g
Cons: battery
"I was looking for an att prepaid phone that was not expensive, and I had came across this one and had bought it.. It an 4g phone and does everything an I phone does for a LOWER PRICE cant go wrong with it for the price..."
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

After two previous underpowered yet inexpensive Androids (Fusion and Fusion 2), this is one fine device. Yet,..

, September 7, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: light, fast, easy app access
Cons: no music equalizer (boo!)
"I was able to root and upgrade the Androids, but the more I upgraded them the more performance suffered. You can do only so much with a single core, 800 Mhz processor.
This phone is fast, light, and easy to use. My only regret is not knowing about the missing music equalizer and Dolby sound. I had a nice equalizer in Android Jelly Bean 4.2, and I understand most other Windows 8 phones have it.
I have read this phone doesn't have the hardware for Dolby - okay, I'll accept that. Just let me adjust sound levels.
I can't return it opened, so I own it. I only expect four things from my phone: texting, email, music playback, and phone calls. This one does 3 of the 4 to my satisfaction.
"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Great Phone

, September 27, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: design, user friendly, camera, videos, fast 4g, battery life
"My mother has this phone and loves it, so I thought I would get it. It is my first phone, and I LOVE it. It takes great videos, its very fast, the ease of use is great! I would recommend this phone to everybody, plus I only pay$40 a month!!! Great battery life too!"
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Solid phone that is great for social networking

, October 3, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: syncs with home pc, great mp3 player built in, smooth operating system, social networking apps
Cons: battery life, no lte
"I have used this phone nonstop for two days. The only real downside to the device is the battery. If you use a lot of wifi or gaming on the handset it will not last long. The app store is no where near the size of apple or play store. However you can find an app for almost anything you need rather easily. The social networking apps are great and sync with your windows 8 pc flawlessly. The music player is good quality but you may want to check if it syncs to your vehicle's blue tooth first as some do not. The games are PS1/Xbox quality and are fluid. The operating system works smoothly and fluidly. You don't have to reboot the phone nonstop like many android models out there. The display isn't the brightest you may see but it does work and is easy enough to see in the sunlight which is a huge plus for taking pictures and responding to texts. There is no flash on the camera and the phone is not LTE. If you can live without those two things this phone is a great day to day work horse that will also sync to your home computer with ease!"
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

Very good value for a basic smartphone

, October 4, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: display, camera, reception, design
Cons: lack of apps, lack of flash on camera
"This is leaps and bounds over the old Symbian os that Nokia has had for years. There are considerably less apps available when compared to a droid. However, when comparing MOST apps there is a comparable one with Windows Mobile 8. When compared to a droid, the lack of trucking apps is its biggest drawback for me. Excellent reception in rural areas. The display is remarkable. The camera is great as long as a flash isn't needed."
Location: Arkansas, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

, October 8, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Great Phone. The only bad part is that there are not a whole lot of apps for Windows phones."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 520- GoPhone®

If you're a 9-year old looking for something to occupy your time until you get off of punishment and can use video games again, this is for you.

, October 11, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"If you're a 9-year old looking for something to occupy your time until you get off of punishment and can use video games again, this is for you. I am a business owner and can not use ANY of the apps that I previously used on my iphone. None of the pic editing apps, pinterest, instagram, photogrid, camera +...just to name a few are available."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media October 22, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
-27points
6out of 39found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georg
Posted November 18, 2013
If your 9 yrs old and being punished you should not have your phone in hand. That is what punishment is all about .
+4points
4out of 4found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>