AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NEC Terrain - Black

NEC Terrain - Black

NEC Terrain (TM) is the ultimate rugged smartphone. Powered by Android (TM) OS, Terrain combines Enhanced Push-to-Talk, an efficient touchscreen, and a QWERTY keyboard. This phone is also designed to survive drops and the elements.
Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
6 of 11(55%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEC Terrain - Black
Review 1 for NEC Terrain - Black

Meets my expectations

, October 23, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I did not buy this phone in order to replace a computer. My goal was to have a rugged phone, since I do spend time outdoors and I was worried to drop the phone and break it. I use this phone mostly for talk, text, email, and maps. I am a photographer so the camera quality is not relevant to me, since I do not care to take pictures with a phone camera. I have this phone almost a month now, and I must say that I like it very much. I charge it twice a week, so even that I am not heavy talker this phone will not last as much as described by the manufacturer. However, the battery does last longer than in other smartphones; my husband has to charge his smartphone every day. Altogether, one should have a down to earth expectation for this phone. A phone is not a replacement for TV so if the complaint is of the display being too small, I am disregarding this complaint in an instant. Also, the manufacturer provided the dimensions of this phone, so one should be able to calculate the size of the keyboard. I have no issue with the keyboard, and it was a must in my case, since I do not like the other ones. I think, people that do complain regarding this phone, would just like to have all the features more expensive phones do have, but they do not want to pay the price for it. Oh well. I am very happy with this phone, and I am looking forward to have it for a long time."
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NEC Terrain - Black

Tough with keyboard and awesome battery

, August 6, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: battery, keyboard, everything proof, fm radio
Cons: game compatibility, camera delay
"I purchased the NEC Terrain because I was looking for a smartphone with a keyboard, and was sorely disappointed by the blackberry q10, with both it's operating system, as well as its lack of apps/support. I couldn't make it past a 30 minute test drive with the blackberry with becoming extremely frustrated. The Terrain is the perfect solution because of both the ease of use of its operating system (android ics) as well as vast amount of apps. My previous phone was a Samsung infuse, and I have to say the terrain is a huge upgrade. Although the Terrain itself may be thicker, and heavier, it is much shorter. Also I don't find the terrain to be any thicker than other smart phones once they are placed in the cases typically needed to protect them from everyday use, which the terrain doesn't need since it is a rugged smart phone. The keyboard is a bit cramped, however it is very usable, and much more accurate than a touchscreen keyboard. Also the prediction feature is pretty accurate when giving a selection of words to pick from. The LTE connection performs admirably as does the dual core processor. The battery is phenomenal, I currently charge it once a day (8am - 12am) that's 16hrs of regular use, much better than any of the Samsung smart phones I've owned in the past. Another nice feature is that this phone has an actual fm radio, so you don't have to bother with data streaming apps like iheart radio.
As with every phone there are short comings. First is the camera, it takes pictures on a delay, making it sometimes difficult to capture exactly the pose you want. The pictures do come out clearly though, and the flash works well. The videos shoot in 720p, and are plenty clear. The screen is big enough for almost any task, however the android buttons take up some of the screen, and aren't physical buttons, also below the screen is a bar that is only used to display the at&t label. I feel this space could have been used for physical buttons, and added some screen space. Also due to the 3.1 inch screen size it is not the best gaming phone. Most games run fine like temple run 2, but some games such as candy crush present a problem. If you're a big gamer this probably isn't the phone for you.
Bottom line, this phone is everything proof, the buttons and keyboard respond perfectly, the battery life is excellent, and has ptt if you need it. If you're looking for a keyboard on a phone with a wide range of apps this is the phone for you. The only serious short coming is the complication wit some games, otherwise it's almost perfectly designed."
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NEC Terrain - Black

Best in the business...

, June 25, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: keypad, battery, rugged build quality, nfc
Cons: small display, ics
"If you want an android phone with keypad, this is the best phone available in the market."
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
boringCorporateUser
DC
Posted July 5, 2013
I initially got the NEC Terrain after waiting ages for a keyboard based Android phone from AT&T (I was coming from a 9000 series Blackberry Bold)
In short, there's a contract you take up when you get a keyboard based phone. In exchange for giving up screen space, you should get more discrete, key based control of the device. The Terrain fails in this regard (sadly, so does the BB Q10), as there is no key based navigation of the device, and you are left with a measley 3.1" screen for navigation and viewing.
I had high hopes for this device and that it was the last stand for key based navigation and typing in a contract device, but boy was I wrong. I've been forced to go to a
full touchscreen experience as the market has failed to provide a truly button based smartphone.
+1point
2out of 3found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for NEC Terrain - Black

Decent Phone for intended purpose

, April 24, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This is a decent phone..First one had issues with hearing callers on second day...I guess I should expect a glitch here and there with mass produced phones...BUT they sent me out a new one right away..problem seems solved...
I use this phone for calls and texting/email mostly...no twitter or facebook
Wanted durability..and the keyboard...so this is the phone to have...
Some have mentioned the battery issue....the data seems to drain the phone faster than anything else....
I ordered a mugen battery (larger battery) for it...Havent got it yet to test...I also ordered a 10,000 mah battery power bank for it...For my trips on the bike...
But as far as battery..when is someone not near a power supply??? I had a captivate glide previously and the battery life is comparable to that...."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NEC Terrain - Black

Finally a replacement for Blackberry

, August 29, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: keyboard
Cons: a slide out keyboard model would be nice., needs arrow keys forward delete
"I've been looking for a Blackberry replacement for a long time. This really works. Good keyboard, adequate screen, good for writing emails. It works fine and battery life is OK.
NEC should work on several things -
1. arrow keys or a touchpad - also forward delete
2. slide out portrait keyboard like the blackberry torch 9810
3. blackberry style sculpted keys would be nice, but the NEC keyboard is surprisingly adequate without the sculpting.
"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NEC Terrain - Black

delay walkie walkie

, November 21, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: body is strong
Cons: battery life and service poor
"Phone battery extremely poor, I might phone is strong interms of body but Nothing much. I use the Walkie talkie but delay and how time not available.. I tried to download some other apps and again not available..regretted not getting others"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media November 22, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NEC Terrain - Black

NOT INTUITIVE & HARD TO USE!

, August 5, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I DESTROY PHONES FAST!!! TRAVELER, ADVETURE AND ADRENALINE IS A MUST PHONE ME SO I NEED A REALLY TOUGH PHONE AND THIS PHONE IS THE TOUGHEST THEY MAKE.
I GOT A rUGb* II AND KILLED IT IN WEEKS, I MEAN PIECES...
I DON'T NEED THE HUNDREDS OF APS WHICH YOU CAN NOT MOVE ON THIS PHONE, I ONLY KEPT IT FOR A FEW DAYS AND QUICKLY REALIZED THAT IN A DIFFICULT SITUATION OF UNDER FIRE THERE IS NO WAY YOU COULD USE THIS PHONE TO EVEN CALL FOR HELP!!! IT IS LITERALLY THAT HARD TO MAKE A PHONE CALL.
although I HAD THE RADIO WORKING IN MINUTES AND IT HOOKED UP TO MY ROUTER BEFORE IT WAS EVEN SET UP... IF YOU WANT IT FOR ITS RUGGEDNESS LIKE I DID THERE IS WAY WAY TOO MUCH JUNK TO GET THROUGH TO EVEN USE THE BASICS AND NO WAY TO GET BACK TO WHERE YOU STARTED WITH OUT RESETING THE ENTIRE PHONE... GOOD LUCK
"
Location: MARYLAND, USA ETC ETC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media August 7, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NEC Terrain - Black

Clunky

, November 25, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: everything about it
"Initially purchased as AT&T didn't have Blackberry Curve 9360 available; I wanted a physical keyboard + a touchscreen. The Q10 was out of my price range... of course, today (1 week after receiving & activating the phone) it is on sale for $100 less, making it the same price as I paid for the NEC Terrain (which is $50 off now).
The keyboard is stiff and unwieldy plus has super small buttons (and I have long narrow fingers).
The touchscreen? An absolute joke! Forget viewing pictures, logging in to any websites, or even managing to hit the app button that you are aiming for ... tiny view area.
Battery life is so low as to be almost non-existent, even when on standby the biggest portion of the time. Even with the screen brightness turned very low & the "go dark" setting at almost immediate, 8 hrs standby seems to be about the max.
I prefer using it on speakerphone mode... wind tunnel effect. Additionally, while the PTT button is easily accessible (nice if you have other PTT users, otherwise it's a useless button), the power button (required to light it up) is small, inset & hard to press."
Location: MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media November 26, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NEC Terrain - Black

PTT is a pain if you don't use it!! The Battery makes this phone almost useless

, September 30, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"the battery makes this phone useless for this "biker" with no way to keep it plugged in at all times!! My 2 1/2 year old blackberry lasts longer than this band new NEC. Loved the thought of a Android with BUTTONS but can't use it as I'd like because the BATTERY is horrible!!!"
Location: Southern, IL, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media October 12, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NEC Terrain - Black

Battery Life is so bad i cannot believe it made it onto the market

, July 8, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: android with keyboard
Cons: battery, ptt, rugged
"Nice android phone with a keyboard. The rugged feature is in the way of normal use & the PTT is annoying if u don't need it. The battery life is the worst. Its that bad that if u use it while the phone is plugged in it still keeps going down.
Good luck."
Age: 36-45
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media August 12, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NEC Terrain - Black

The keyboard lets you type well, but it is useless for navigating the device.

, July 5, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: durable, the keyboard types well
Cons: keyboard has no commands, keys not used in navigation, buttons cannot be repurposed for other actions, screen is small, phone does not have menu key
"I initially got the NEC Terrain after waiting ages for a keyboard based Android phone from AT&T (I was coming from a 9000 series Blackberry Bold)
In short, there's a contract you take up when you get a keyboard based phone. In exchange for giving up screen space, you should get more discrete, key based control of the device. The Terrain fails in this regard (sadly, so does the BB Q10), as there is no key based navigation of the device, and you are left with a measley 3.1" screen for navigation and viewing.
I had high hopes for this device and that it was the last stand for key based navigation and typing in a contract smartphone device, but boy was I wrong. Here's to being forced to leave my keyboard in order to have a smartphone experience."
Location: DC
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media August 9, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.