AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
9 of 22(41%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Nothing Appealing at all about this phone

, July 18, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I was excited at first to find a droid replacement phone that was relatively inexpensive, what I didn't realize was that this phone could not handle the droid programming. It is painfully slow, it literally has to load the dialer on the phone when trying to place calls. When attempting to push the buttons it normally just freezes up. It just doesn't appear that the phone was built to handle the programming that comes with it. Also, the battery life on this phone is complete rubbish. This phone is brand new, less than one month old, and it will NOT hold a charge for an entire work day. I unplug my phone from the charger at home, go to work for 4 hours and grab my charger at lunch because my battery is dying and I need to recharge it during the second half of my shift. Once again, the phone is less that a month old. What does my device say is eating up battery? After 4 hours I will see that 70% of my battery life was used by my phones standby mode. If I have to make a phone call, a 5-minute call is likely to use at least 10% of my battery life. I HAVE disabled automatic updates, I ALWAYS have my data plan and wifi disabled, and I turned down the settings until the phone is little more than an overpriced slide phone with no extra features. Any extra features the phone does feel like running on a given day will be painfully slow and prone to crashing. Factory resets won't help you here, just avoid the phone at all costs. It was such a huge difference between my Galaxy Exhilarate and the Appeal that it's not even funny. I would have preferred to have just received a bargain bin flip phone with no extra features, because it would essentially function as well as the Appeal since the Droid programming hardly ever works on the phone. At least with a bargain bin phone though the battery is likely to last much longer and the phone probably won't have to load a call for 30 seconds. (I will literally dial in a # 4 times in order for it to actually pick up that I am trying to call out.) So, in short, avoid this phone. Borrow phones for a few weeks longer if it means you can get a better phone, or if you can't afford a nice phone just go with something simpler that works."
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

upgrade from a Fusion refurb

, June 8, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I've had mine for a week, after having a refurbished Fusion. A little tougher to navigate, but built in memory is greater, plenty of memory to go. Data may go faster because of all the syncronization that is possible so I am moving to ensure that I only download data at home over the wi fi or until I want to check my Sharebuilder account and news.
I liked the pull down from the top access for on/off functionality on data, and brightness on the Fusion better. I need to access settings in a room to sort the adjustments that I want now. One night, the battery discharged the majority of the power without any use, or made me wonder what was draining it because the Fusion held the charge on what I considered standby time. Appeal entertainment value much larger now, Fusion is more bare bones on memory, but maybe that is better with the Fusion 2? I do like the keyboard cause the Android screen keyboard seems slightly smaller as well. Better updating capability on my downloaded apps, without insufficient storage warnings, and I can easily store on the SD card as well. Fusion not so much, but then I still wonder about the cheaper Fusion 2 being a better in between move.
"
Location: Clarksville, TN, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media July 2, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Memory, battery, and time hogger.

, May 24, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camara resolution is decent., fully functional as a smartphone.
Cons: the battery is weak but just adjust the settings., memory space is extremely limited and poor., 3g data makes it uses is slow, the speakers equipped in the back are inconvenient, the sliding keyboard is a bit flimsy not secure, touch screen sensor is poor
"Overall the phone was pretty good while it lasted. It had minor app glitches but those were fixable. The storage memory is what didn't cut it for me."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media June 17, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

STINKS

, February 20, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery, slow, freezes all the time
"STINKS THE BATTERY DIES EVERY HOUR ON THE HOUR EVEN IF YOUR NOT USING IT!"
Location: Hamilton Township, NJ, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media March 5, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

, December 26, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"The Samsung appeal is ok if you are trying to save money........."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Not worth the price!

, February 17, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: sound quality, internet speed, lots of apps
Cons: price, battery life, keyboard is hard to use, reception, touch screen to sensitive, not user friendly, not enough options for screen
"This is the most user-unfriendly phone I have ever had. It takes 4 steps just to dial a number and make a phone call. You can't adjust the screen locking mechanism. The battery life is horrible. It won't even last a day for me and all I use it for is to check Facebook, and make calls. The Android apps will remain open, unless you go and force them to close, thus draining the battery more. It will also use data without you actually being on the internet. Reception on this phone is not good at all-I got full reception where I live with my Nokia, E5, this phone will get only 3 out of 5 bars, sometimes 2 bars. The 3G internet speed is ok, could be better. Sound quality is decent on headset and speakerphone. The pull-out qwerty keyboard is not good, none of the letters are raised and you have to press hard to type anything, so texting is not easy. Plus you have to press ALT to type a number!! I would not recommend this phone at all! It is not easy to use and definitely not worth the price Samsung and AT&T are charging."
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media March 4, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

good phone just bad battery

, January 11, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: easy to use
Cons: bad battery
"it is a good phone and is good for the price and it is well worth it and the only bad thing is the battery thats it"
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Troysred
Kingston, NY
Posted April 6, 2013
I just ordered this phone and it is being shipped out today. I am so hoping to get it on Monday. This will be my first real first smart phone, go phone. I have to say that I have done some research on all the phones and when it comes to batteries, there will always be a problem with any make or model depending on usage and this is how for me I had to get over that batterie issue always popping up. After careful research I feel that the phone I will be getting this coming Monday will be my dream phone for sure and I am very pleased that I did go with AT&T.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Nice Little Phone

, January 5, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: nice size, touchscreen works well
Cons: the keyboard takes a bit of getting used to, battery life is not the best, does not pick up wifi signals well
"I got this phone about two months ago and so far I have liked it a lot. It's my first "smart" phone, and as the other reviewers have stated it's not the very newest and best technology, but it works well for my needs. The battery life is not the best, but it lasts me most of the day, as long as a day and a half if I don't use it much. It's usually not a problem as I can charge it during the day if necessary, though it does become a bit annoying. Overall though, this is a very good phone."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

very nice phone

, January 1, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This is a very nice phone easy to use, decent display, call quality is very good clear no static, perfect size to put in your pocket . I really like the slide out keyboard makes it really easy for typing The battery power is very decent for smartphone and the touch screen is very responsive The phone has a good solid feel to it. All in all a good price, nice little phone does everything I need a phone to do."
Location: Ohio, USA
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KWilliams
Indianapolis, IN
Posted January 12, 2013
This is the best phone for the money in the pre paid smart phone market. The screen is a little bit small and the slide out keyboard may not be necessary. The phone does, however, perform as would be expected from a Galaxy even though it is a low end model.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Terrible Battery

, January 26, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery
"This is a good phone for beginner smart phone users, but it comes with all these pre-loaded apps that can't be deleted. The worst part, though, has to be the battery. It's absolutely terrible. It drains in no time (even with wi-fi and other apps turned off) and it gets super hot when charging. Sometimes, it randomly "de-charges" itself when it's only been off the charger for about an hour."
Location: Waynesboro, TN
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media January 30, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

What's the point of this phone?

, June 20, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery life is pathetic
"I had read the reviews about this particular phone's battery life, or lack thereof, but figured, "Hey, I'm just going to use it for texting and minimal talking. How bad can it be?" The answer: very bad. I had the phone die on me one day after receiving one text, making one call that lasted approx. 10 seconds and receiving one call that lasted approx. 10 seconds. This is a joke. I went back to my old phone. It's a Samsung and has served me well, which is why I thought this phone would be good. I cannot recommend it for any use whatsoever."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media July 11, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 800am to 500pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert AT&T Social Media Manager.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Good Phone For Price and Lack of Plan

, May 20, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: easy to use, durable, inexpensive
Cons: ram use
"Considering it is a Go Phone, the quality is not going to be top. Part of the price you pay for staying off a contract. But for a basic smart phone this is wonderful. I do not know why everyone is complaining about battery life, mine lasts all day no problem unless I use it heavily. Never had it die on me, even when I spent 8 hours at work listening to Pandora! Great app selection, and fairly easy to use and customize!
It does have a few glitches, and you have to clear out the ram now and again, but overall a solid phone. I've had it for months and it works great for me, even after being dropped in a sink and getting soaked!!!"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Excellent phone for the money

, January 1, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: price
"I am very pleased with the Samsung Appeal. I use it as a backup for my Galaxy S III and it is not different, other than slightly smaller and less apps. Its nice that you can move apps to the SD card unlike the S III."
Location: NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

great product it is well woth the money i spent on it

, February 19, 2013
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: easy to use, features, slide out key board, good price, fast phone, good phone, looks, phone ringer loud
Cons: battery life
"this phone is a good item you can text message really fast on it and it responds back really quick and it is a very fast phone. i droped it a few times and i still have no marks on it and it takes the hit. the graphics are great and so is the slid out key board. and its good how the head phone plug in thing is on the top instead of the side like my other phone. the only really negative thing i have to say about it is the battery the battery does not last that long"
Location: Bay Saint Louis, Bay St. Louis, MS 39520, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Fair phone but has problems

, February 15, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: sharp screen display, nice multi-page desktops
Cons: battery!!!!!!!!!!, screen doesn't always respond
"Bought 2 weeks ago and have had problems. Multiple instances where battery would go dead overnight after being charged to 100% and powering it off. Tried leaving it on overnight in airplane mode but battery indicator showed very low the next morning. Multiple instances where phone displays a black screen with small writing that says it is in ramdump mode. Phone will not respond at this point and had to pull battery to get message to clear. Phone has always come back normally after doing so. Took it back to the AT&T store where I purchased it from after 1 week and they would not exchange it. I was told they had to be able to duplicate the problem to get an exchange. They did order me a replacement battery which I received after 5 days. Installed it and it had the same dead battery in the morning problem. Will attempt another exchange as I took a picture of the ramdump screen. Screen taps sometimes takes a hard tap to respond. I recommend installing a memory card for your custom ringtones that you just transfer to the card and then tell the phone to use them. Also good for picture storage. Get a car charger for your bad battery problem. Buy it from a store that will stand behind the product and allow an exchange."
Location: Rialto, CA, USA
Age: 56+
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media February 19, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous4242
Posted March 18, 2014
I've had mine a while and lord knows how many times I've dropped it. It's really durable and relatively easy to use.
It has incidents where I had to take out the battery because the screen froze (though this may be my fault for dropping it too much#. Over all though it's easy to use, durable, and can connect to internet #which I really enjoy#.
It has it's flaws but it is one of the best phones I've had #though I haven't had very many)
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Basically a good phone, but don't expect too much

, May 11, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: connects with bluetooth easily, call quality is very good with bluetooth
Cons: battery life is #1 complaint, speaker phone quality needs improvement, phone back panel is thin and fimsy, qwerty keyboard keys just don't feel responsive
"After dealing with contracts for many years and paying way too much for monthly service with another provider I decided to come back to AT&T but decided on the prepaid GoPhone plan, and, overall I am glad I did.
Let's get the bad portion of this review out of the way first. I am on my second Galaxy Appeal, I bought my first Appeal in late November 2012, and I exchanged my first Appeal in less than 2 weeks because of 2 issues that occurred too often:
The first Appeal's screen would freeze up too often. I would be pushing buttons on the screen, and then it would seize up and freeze up, and I have to power it down and restart it. I've had the 2nd Samsung Appeal for over 5 months now, and the good news is this only happens once or twice a month.
On both my 1st and 2nd Galaxy Appeal, I would hit a button, and a completely different application would open. This happened quite a bit on my first Galaxy Appeal, but it has only happened a couple of times on the 2nd Appeal.
Now the better aspects of this phone. First off, I am a heavy talker, and one of the most important features with any cell phone I use is that is has to work well with my Plantronics Voyager Legend Bluetooth headset, being that I am on the phone constantly when I am working on the computer. The Galaxy Appeal works great with the Plantronics headset, it's easy to connect to the headset, it stays connected, and call quality is almost always crystal clear. Overall the Appeal definitely gets a thumbs up in this area.
Second, I am not that heavy of a texter. I like that this phone is smaller, and it's more portable, but the downside of such a small screen is that the text keyboard on the screen is difficult to use, I have big hands, I use the slide-out QWERTY keyboard sometimes but I find that most of the time I can type faster on the screen, versus using the slide-out feature.
As far as data goes, I don't use that much, but I still want to have this feature accessible. Yes, data speed is slow, but it does get the job done. I only need the data plan for checking for local addresses & phone numbers, as well as using the basic free navigation feature which is good on this phone.
I am one of those rare cell phone users who does not check email or use any social media on my phone, I prefer to use my computer or tablet for those functions. I also don't care about the camera, and some of the other frills of the phone, I don't use them, and I don't care about them.
I definitely agree with what everyone else here says about the battery life of this phone, it's too short, and the Appeal needs to be charged almost daily. This is annoying.
On the battery usage situation, another annoying issue is that sometimes when the battery gets low, even though I DO NOT have the phone set to Custom Power Saving, the screen will dim when the battery gets low, as if it's set to the power saving mode. I don't like the power saving mode, because it makes the screen to difficult to read.
Also, to anyone buying this phone, I would recommend buying a screen protector as well as getting a backing or case for this phone, being that the removable panel on the back of this phone is pretty flimsy.
I realize that the selection of pre-paid phones are not going to be as good as the phones offered to contract customers, and I knew this before going the pre-paid route, but I also realize that I REALLY like not being tied up in a contract as well as paying significantly less than contract customers.
If you can get by with a basic phone then I'd recommend it, but you have to keep it charged. If you need more from your phone, then I'd pass this one by. By a slim margin, I'd recommend this phone overall but I hope that AT&T will consider adding more phones to their pre-paid selection."
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media June 4, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about this. We will be happy to research this inquiry for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I can review this for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Terrible battery life!

, February 8, 2013
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: slider qwerty keyboard
Cons: battery life, too many preloaded useless apps
"Battery life is terrible! I use my phone for calls and texting. One 15 minute call takes a fully charged battery down to 80%. A few texts and it's down to 50%. Once there it's dead very soon, even if not being used! Slider qwerty keyboard is good. Many preloaded apps that can't be removed but I'll never use. Apps stay active even if phone goes to standby, this eats battery as well. Cannot upload any of my music from my computer. Cannot send or download videos taken with phone, says file is too large and won't compress, and even tho it's set to put all pics and videos on my SD card they don't seem to be there when I put it in reader/computer. Beyond frustrating!"
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media February 14, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Keep having to have them replaced!

, January 18, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"We have had this phone replaced 3 times! We get an odd error message. Thankfully it's under warranty, but I wouldn't buy it again! Battery life isn't good. I'm hoping our fourth replacement will work! Couldn't recommend!"
Location: Kansas, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media January 28, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTRobertG@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Just doesn't perform as intended

, January 4, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: slide out keyboard, high resolution screen
Cons: awful battery life, confusing menus, lacks needed business functionality
"Seemed like a pretty good package for a business user transitioning off a Blackberry, but performance was a big disappointment. Turned out to have perfectly dreadful battery life: my new phone went from 100% charge to 10% charge in a single 90-minute call. Clearly does NOT meet the advertised 7 hour talk time!
In standby mode, with only three short calls, the phone went to critically low battery in 6 1/2 hours. Nowhere near the advertised 12 days(!) of standby.
Lots of functions, true, but not well thought out.
Menus are confusing, touch screen is over-sensitive, and can't do simple, common-sense business functions like cut-and-past contact info into emails, yet it carries massive amounts of useless bloatware."
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Age: 56+
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media January 14, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTRobertG@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal (TM) (i827) GoPhone? - Prepaid - Silver

Awesome so far

, February 26, 2013
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: design, features, ease of use, display, apps and widgets
Cons: screen size, no flash
"I just got this phone two days ago and so far, I am in love with it. The keyboard is easy to use, the phone is easy to carry around, and the display is nice. Also, the operating system moves relatively quickly. I love all of the features, and for a smartphone, the battery life is pretty good. The widgets and apps are great. However, the screen is a bit small, and the camera could use improvement (like flash). Otherwise, this is a great phone that I am happy to have bought."
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>