AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pantech Renue - Black

Pantech Renue - Black

Enjoy a rich quick messaging experience in a sleek, comfortable and durable design. The Pantech Renue (TM) features a 3.2" touchscreen, a full slide out QWERTY keyboard and is pre-loaded with a host of useful applications like Twitter (TM) and Facebook.
Average Customer Rating:
2.894 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 star
28
45 of 85(53%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pantech Renue - Black
Review 1 for Pantech Renue - Black

It's so bad it's hard to believe

, July 5, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I have 2 mobile lines-first is iPhone--.the second one is purely for "public" calls, the number I give out to stores, websites etc. I do have to use it from time to time but I needed a handset where I didn't have to subscribe to "smart fone" services-there are very few! Pantech was it - fone shuts itself off, battery dies af reg chging-replaced already, functions are awkward not intuitive-it's awful all around! LOL I call it my shoe phone! MSmart! Baaaaddd!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pantech Renue - Black

hard to use and poor battery life

, May 28, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: weak battery, touch screen too sensitive, difficult to use
"touch screen is "hyper sensitive", especially when surfing for contacts. poor battery life. Battery dies on standby after just a few days; using the phone for calls the battery will need charged after only 5 or 6 10 minute calls. Overall poor phone and poor quality. Not recommended"
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pantech Renue - Black

Don't buy

, May 27, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"There is no way I can retrieve the phone from my pocket without disconnecting the call"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pantech Renue - Black

Terrible touch screen sensitivity.

, May 4, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"The touch screens sensitivity is terrible. Everything works fine, and looks good, the layout of the keypad is nice. It just has a terrible touch screen. AVOID this phone and pay a little more for anything else."
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pantech Renue - Black

Decent Phone

, June 9, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"If you're looking for a messaging phone, (not smart), then this Phone does the job quite well. I've had this phone for several weeks now and I've found no huge flaws with it so far.
The battery life is about 2-3 days, and texting is relatively easy on the wide QWERTY keyboard. However, since the slide keyboard is horizontal and the touch screen is vertical, there's a lot of turning the phone back and forth when texting, which is a small hassle.
Besides that, this phone has pretty intuitive features. I personally like the lockscreen set up, which gives you the option of going straight into messaging or phone or etc.
It's a good deal in my opinion."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pantech Renue - Black

Nice simple phone

, April 16, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: ease of use, small
Cons: battery life when texting, ringtones
"I like this phone for a good basic phone. Easy to use and small to fit in my shirt pocket. I don't care much for the ring tones, and without data , you cannot upload other ringtones like you could with the older basic phones. Battery life is on average just calling, but for texting, it looses power fast. So if your a big on texting, you may not like it. I've had mine for over a year with minimal problems."
Location: CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
catbird2
California, USA
Posted August 1, 2014
You can add any MP3 ringtone from your computer using a Bluetooth connection or USB cable. Just make sure the file size is under 400K.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Pantech Renue - Black

DONT BUY THIS

, April 8, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"this phone is not worth it. it glitches out after a few months of having it and it stops working at the times you need it most."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pantech Renue - Black

Working well for me!

, May 22, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: small size, feels solid, easy to use, no data plan required, eco-friendly
Cons: learning curve
"So far this phone has been a pleasure to use. I like the size, the sturdy feel, the responsive touch screen, and the ease of use. You do have to invest some time learning how to use all the features, including Powersaver which will help with battery life. It is not a smartphone but it does a lot! You can connect it to your computer using Bluetooth and transfer your favorite songs onto it. Call quality is fine, texting is a breeze on the slide out keyboard. For a basic feature phone it is the coolest one I've seen."
Location: California, USA
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pantech Renue - Black

I don't recommend it

, April 7, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: features, battery life
Cons: dim display, easy to dial in error
"It's hard to find a decent non-data plan phone these days, and getting harder. This looked like a pretty neat phone when I looked at it. It turned out to be not that great. I can't read the display in sunlight, at all. It's way too easy to butt-dial someone or else accidentally hang up when I try to reach into my pocket to answer a call. Somehow I've also butt-texted people in my contact list. I didn't even know that was possible. If you put it in your pocket, be aware that it comes alive as soon as you slide the keyboard, even just a little bit. Reception is terrible.The phone has nice features, but the usability and touch-screen problems make it a no-go in my opinion. It seems like all the phone carriers want to just push people into getting a smart phone."
Location: Meridian, MS, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pantech Renue - Black

I love this phone!

, March 24, 2014
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: small and thin, good touch screen, world phone, ability to transfer files to and from the device, vibration feedback when the screen is touched, durability
Cons: poor camera but i did not buy the phone for that
"Over the years, I have had many cell phones. Some I liked, while others I did not care for very much. After my LG Xpression got water damage last month, I was searching the AT&T site for a good replacement quick messaging phone. I considered the Pantech Renue and after testing it out in the store, I purchased one. I am very happy with my purchase. Many of my phones, after having them for two weeks, began malfunctioning. This phone has been working very well since day one. One of my favorite things about this phone is the size and shape. I like how small and thin it is. It is easy for me to carry the phone in my pocket or my purse. I also like the touch screen and the slide out QWERTY keyboard. I like how the keys are made of hard plastic instead of rubber, what the LG Xpression had. I also like how much clearer the audio quality sounds on this phone. The ringing volume is pretty good. Pantech included some good, loud, ringtones with this phone. I think I have missed fewer calls with this phone than with previous phones. I also like the fact that this phone is a world phone. I will be able to take it overseas and use it. All in all, it's a great phone and I am happy that I bought it."
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pantech Renue - Black

Worst phone ever

, March 23, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery life
"I've had this phone for a whole year now. Its safe to say its the worst phone I've ever had. The battery life is terrible. It only last me one day even if its on standby the whole time. It has terrible reception and sometimes I recieve missed calls or text messages 5 hours to a day later. The camera is not so great and video is terrible. The touch screen is very delayed and I don't like the feel of it. I would definitely not get this phone again.m"
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pantech Renue - Black

Awful phone--battery doesn't last

, March 20, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I've had nothing but trouble with this phone ever since I agreed to utilize my qualifying upgrade. The battery was replaced only a couple of months after I got the phone. The new battery is just as bad as the one that came with the phone. It's now gotten to the point I have to charge the battery at least once a day. And if I go on line to check my e-mail, surf the web and/or use Facebook I can count on having to recharge the battery two or three times a day. Now, I'm having trouble receiving calls. I'm receiving notifications of voice mail messages without an accompanying call. Sometimes it takes a day or two before the call will appear on the missed call log. If I upgrade to a smartphone I'll lose my unlimited data plan. I cannot get a replacement phone until February 2015."
Location: Lincoln City, OR, USA
Age: 56+
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pantech Renue - Black

Do not buy this phone!!

, March 12, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: nice big screen
Cons: stiff qwerty keyboard, terrible calender function, terrible clock function
"Do not buy this phone!! I have returned this phone for the same problem it is doing again!! First, when I set a reminder on my calendar for an hour before the appointment (for example), it doesn't go off until about 6 hours later! Doesn't help me any! Also, when the time changes for daylight savings, the phone changes every appointment beginning and ending time ahead or behind an hour! Very frustrating!! Do not get this phone!! Text messages also change from conversation as done to all sender (me) on top and then received texts at the end - not continuous conversation. Then sometimes switches back. Again, do not get this phone!"
Location: Delaware, USA
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pantech Renue - Black

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

, March 1, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
""Mother Nature approved" is a joke. The phone does not work in extreme heat or cold. After over six months of use, my texts are not coming through or going out and the touch screen is delayed. This phone is the worst phone I have ever had. I am writing in the midst of my frustration so after throwing it across the room, I must say it is very durable."
Location: Alexandria, KY, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pantech Renue - Black

Finally Satisfied

, February 3, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: radio touchscreen auto delete messges
Cons: speakerphone crackling at high volume
"I am just a simple person who only talk & text. I started off with a Razr then AT&T gave me a cheap, worthless LG CF360. I finally upgraded to this device and when I activated and started using it, I blamed myself for being frugal. This was the best $40 I spent on a phone. Like I said, I only text and talk, I can listen to my music on my car stereo also talk on the phone via car stereo. I read the reviews from others where the phone would drop calls, but I think it was the users. My dropped calls was due to me being inexperience with the phone, after I figured out what to do no drop calls. You can use this phone two ways for texting, I like the touchpad personally. I am satisfied at this point."
Location: SA, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fgardens
West Sacramento
Posted February 17, 2014
This phone is horrible, much like the entire Pantech product line. Customer support, device functionality, and the overall design is lacking any intelligible characteristics. I for one will never buy another Pantech device. They're sluggish, out of touch, and behind the times. If you're looking for a dependable, comprehensive, and user-friendly device, move along my brother - move along.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Pantech Renue - Black

Worst phone ever!

, January 28, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"It always calls people when in your pocket or purse. The solution? Add a pin number. BUT, even with the keys locked, and a Pin number required to access the keyboard, it can still call 911 while in your pocket or purse, but YOU can't hang up that call without first typing in your Pin number and waiting 3 seconds for the "Unlocked" message to go away. While you are on a call, with the keys locked, the phone can not only call 911, but it can also call people in your contact list. You can't make it hang up the new call without typing your Pin and waiting 3 seconds for "unlocked" to disappear. If you put the phone between your shoulder and ear, so that you can use your hands, it WILL call someone, and you will be lucky if it's not 911. 911 is available at a push of an on-touch-screen button, even if they keys are locked, and even if you require a pin number to access the keyboard. Overall, don't use the Pin number function--it makes the phone MUCH more trouble than it's worth. Tell your friends that if your phone butt dials them, to get over it, because you can't make your phone quit doing it without making your phone completely useless. After only 1 month, the bottom 3 buttons on my phone don't work, so if I look at pics, I have to turn the phone off and back on again before I can use the camera or any other screen. If the PIN is activated, then I can't even access the phone without first turning it off and on again. At least with the PIN de-activated, I can access the phone or messages from the lock screen."
Location: Grapeland, TX 75844, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media January 31, 2014
Hi, we sent you an e-mail regarding this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pantech Renue - Black

, March 11, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Terrible phone. Will not hold a charge and I miss texts and calls frequently. Will never, ever get one of these again!"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pantech Renue - Black

WORST PHONE EVER

, March 5, 2014
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: battery lasts more than one day sometimes
Cons: calls late, texts late, bad phone
"I don't receive calls for days sometimes weeks. The screen only dims about half way, it doesn't really dim almost at all. It shuts off when I make calls. The screen shuts off, I can still hear and talk sometimes, but almost every time the screen shuts off and after the person on the other line hangs up, its still off. I have to take the battery out, and put it back in and then wait for it to turn back on and start over. I would NEVER recommend this to anyone.... EVER."
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pantech Renue - Black

The phone rejects incoming calls easily, text messaging has been a frustrating nightmare, the battery doesn't last 12 hours, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

, January 18, 2014
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: the automatic correction mode is awful.
"The phone rejects incoming calls easily. Frequently. All the time. It does not matter if the screen is locked or unlocked. I have to handle the phone very, very carefully when taking it out of my pocket or purse, and more times than not, it rejects the call. I prefer to use the alpha screen rather than the keypad and it is a nightmare. I type common words using automatic correction and gibberish is the first choice displayed and cannot be changed. For over a year now, I type the word "that" (upper or lower case) and I get "Viat." What the heck is Viat? I type "off" and I get "ofd." I can't get rid of these nonsense words either. I have tried to use the standard mode for "that," so frequently spelling the word would put it first, but no deal. I spell good or home and hoof is first choice. I used the acronym "IDT" one time and now every time I spell "get" the "IDT" is displayed as first choice. Enough said. When I do use the phone a lot during the day, which is still less than everyone I know, the battery does not last 12 hours."
Location: St. Louis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media January 23, 2014
Hi, we sent you an e-mail regarding this.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pantech Renue - Black

Good phone, easy to use

, March 1, 2014
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: easy to use, battery lfe, small size
"I have had this phone for a year now and it holds a charge for about two days. It is easy to use. It would be nice to be able to delete some icons, but you can't. I like the fact that it is small, smart phones are getting huge."
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>