AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

LG Nitro HD - Black
Average Customer Rating:
3.711 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
14
64 of 97(66%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black
Review 1 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

I bought this phone back in July and ive regretted it ever since

, January 3, 2013
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: vibrant display
Cons: battery dies fast, resets without reason, camera issues, freezing
"I bought the phone back in July when I started a new plan with AT&T. I was soon notified right after that there was an update from gingerbread to ICS. I assumed that this update would make the phone much better since it was the latest operating system (at the time). But ever since the update the phone resets every 10 or so minutes without reason, freezes, cant connect to camera, and the problems continue from there. There is no known way to downgrade it back to gingerbread so with no other choice i got rid of the thing and bought a new phone. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PHONE."
Location: Celebration, Florida
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media January 14, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTRobertG@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

, December 7, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"this phone is junk all it does is shut it self off or frezze up and dont work"
Location: McArthur, CA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By RobertSocial Media December 14, 2012
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTRobertG@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

, October 29, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"i was so excited about my new phone and service and i have been on my 3rd lg nitro in less than 30 days :(
the 1st phone would not charge
the 2nd phone would not charge or stay on long enough with out cutting off in the middle of phone calls or text messages
the 3rd phone does the same thing cuts off and on and sum-times charges.
good things are the phone is light weight large screen if the phone stays on long enough to enjoy it
"
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Would not buy another LG again

, October 22, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camara
Cons: just about everything other then camara
"Phone Re-starts without warning, Drops calls, Battery has no life and must charge at a minimum of 2 times a day. Very unhappy with this phone."
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Awful

, September 2, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: could be a good phone without the glitches
Cons: texts don't show up, overheats for no reason., contacts only show up sometimes.
"This is my first smart phone and it has been awful. All of my contacts from my old phone are the sim card. But don't EVER shut it off. Everytime I shut it off the contacts don't show up unless I turn it and off and back on at least 5 times. Also, I don't receive my text messages if my phone shuts off and turns back on. So i never have any idea if my texts are being sent through or not. I understand if you play games on the phone, it will over heat. But sometimes I won't be doing anything with the phone and it will overheat in my pocket and shut off on its own. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. It has been nothing but a headache."
Location: Cairo, NY, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

bad phone, stay away.

, August 22, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I had this phone for about 3 months, and this was a terrible phone. I had numerous problems with the phone. They kept sending me a new phone and it would have the same problems plus some more. I finally got a different phone. I have always been with att and they stood behind the product, and I was happy with that, but the issues the phone was having took much time out of my life-dealing with the issues."
Location: St Louis, MO, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Not worth the money!!!!!!

, July 31, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"The phone doesnt have a good battery life, it has to be charged sometimes twice a day. The internet on the phone doesnt work the correct way. I have to turn the phone off and on to get the internet .
I dont like that I cant remove apps. that I dont need. The phone was a gift that I want to return:(.
"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

, April 24, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: battery life, volume level, small keys, durability, charge time
"this phone has almost no battery life, lost half the battery sitting idle overnight!! and it takes forever to charge! over 2 hours! the included charger is only 3 feet long so unless you can sit next to an outlet all day dont buy this phone!!!"
Location: Cleveland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

CELL PHONE IS MY HOME PHONe.batterylife last 30mi

, February 23, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camera/video quality, ease of use
Cons: battery life, freezes, durability
"We depend on our phone. Battery life is offal. 2 messages. 30 minutes. & the battery. Was gone, I didn't even have to talk. I was lucky at&t was nice enough to let me get another phone. I got the Samsung skyrockocet. I love it. It was worth paying more. They say its a smartphone that's why it does that. Excuse my French I want answer that for 30 minutes..."
Location: LAFAYETTE. LOUISIANA
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
-14points
3out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

LG Nitro is not your ideal phone

, February 3, 2013
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: graphics
Cons: wifi, battery life, glitches, screen freezes
"this phone was great at first then it began to have some glitches and i thought " hey maybe im just not use to this phone yet?" ive had this phone for about 7-8 months and the problems started appearing around the 7th month. the wifi started turning off randomly and the phone freezes. the worst part is if you have a data allowance don't get this phone. sometimes the WIFI will turn off when the phone is locked the wifi shuts off and when you unlock the wifi is turned off and turns on a few minutes later."
Location: Stanwood, WA 98292, USA
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
Response from AT&T Cell Phone & Plans:By Robert Social Media February 12, 2013
Hello,
I’m with AT&T and I’m sorry to hear about your equipment issues. We will be happy to troubleshoot this for you. If you like, you can e-mail your account and contact information to ATTCustomerCare@att.com and I will be happy to research this inquiry for you. My normal working hours are 830am to 530pm EST M-F. Thanks, Robert G AT&T Social Media Manager.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

No battery life, hard to type, not good first smart phone

, October 29, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: large display, camera
Cons: short battery life, confusing, horrible keyboard, difficult to answer calls
"It's a large phone, very pretty. I bought it because of the high quality camera.
If you like watching videos this is for you. If you like talking to people and texting get a different phone."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Worst phone I have ever had!

, August 14, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"Am now on my 3rd phone since May. The battery got so hot in the first one that after replacing it is still would get so hot I could not put it next to my face. The second on would not accept and SD card. Now the third one won't attach to the internet or 4G.
Have always had Samsung and the phone store is being nice enough to replace the piece of junk with a Samsung.
"
Location: Tx
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Very frusterated!!!

, July 16, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Cons: freezing, shuts off by itself, volume
"The phone itself is a good phone however after only having the phone for two weeks it began to start freezing up and then would just shut off. I was wedding dress shopping and couldn't even use my phone to take pictures because of it freezing up."
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

, June 10, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: textured case
Cons: limited memory, freezes, software bugs, att data problem
"Before you think about this purchase look online about the FOTA update that kills the data connectiity...right out of the box it has not seen the inernet with out WiFi. This is unbelievable, even for ATT. Another problem making it worse to use is the lag. Just sliding the home screen and typing has about a 1/2 sec. delay most of the time...terrible considering the dual core processor installed. Then there's the screen, HD. Yeah, it's HD alright, with a contrast ratio that makes my 20 year old zenith tube tv seem HD. The only good thing I could see (since I couldn't use it much with out being in the house) was the back cover. A good texture for gripping so you don't drop it too easily, although after only a couple hours I want to throw it. Basically, spend a little more and buy a Samsung or an iPhone or anything but LG."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

, June 7, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: screen
Cons: battery life, volume level, speaker
"The screen on this phone is very nice but everything else is blah.
Battery life is horrendous. Charged it to 100% and had two phone calls around 5 minutes each and three texts and the battery had lost over 25% of its charge.
The speaker is just bad. I had to turn it up to hear people but if you turn it up past a certain point it starts to hear static. I mostly speak on the speaker phone because of work and it was a very bad experience.
Went back to my iphone 3gs and don't think I will bother upgrading for a while."
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

, May 6, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camera/video quality
Cons: battery life, poor navigation, small keys, bulky/heavy, freezes, durability, volume level, software bugs
"Worst phone EVER,period!!! Battery life not good and it take forever to charge it up."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Doesnt contain a headphone

, March 12, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: tools, menus, Wi-Fi capable
Cons: battery life, volume level, operating system, missing headphone with box
"This product doesnt come with a headphone. Dont purchase this thinking of the standard stuffs like headphones included in the box.
The Altec Lansing Headphones that I purchased from Amazon doesnt work with this phone too. Think of accessories that are essential before buying.
"
Location: Lubbock
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-13points
3out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Its was s good phone for 2weeks

, June 11, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camera/video quality
Cons: battery life, volume level, small keys, software bugs, freezes
"Its was ok then it started to turn off and on. freeze"
Location: Houston,Texas
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

INTERNET DOESN'T WORK

, May 31, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: games, camera/video quality, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: software bugs, mobile network doesn't work
"So, I bought this phone as an upgrade from my old one - this is my first smartphone. Like many, I was incredibly excited to finally join the world of a mobile network, touch screens, apps, etc. And at first, that's what I had. However, almost immediately after turning it on for the first time, I received a notification that I was to be pushed the new, FOTA firmware update for the Nitro HD. "Seems legitimate" I said to myself. Unfortunately, that was not the case.
Now, the 4G/Mobile Network essentially DOES NOT WORK. I always have bars and can make calls, texts, and the like, however they are grey, instead of green. This means that the internet doesn't work. I have found that the only way to force it to connect properly is to toggle on/off "airplane mode," however this is time consuming and the internet will only work for a few minutes, max. Fortunately, the WiFi works flawlessly, but the issue with that is that I only have this at home: the point of having the mobile network is to have it available when I'm MOBILE and on the go.
Other than that major flaw, everything works great. The display is wonderful, the interface intuitive, all that jazz. I just can't stress enough the horrendous connectivity and therefore would not recommend it. Stay well away from this one, friends, it'll only give you a headache."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG Nitro (TM) HD - Black

Horrible Battery

, May 14, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: camera/video quality, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory
"I had this phone for 2 days and returned it to the store for an exchange. I understand that the combination of the dual core processor, HD screen, & LTE drain battery life but LG's power management on this phone is terrible. I made three phone calls, checked my email, and downloaded a couple of apps and the battery was toast. i literally watched it drain before my eyes. Exchanged it for an HTC Vivid. Much Happier!"
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>