AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G* is the first ever PlayStation? Certified Android (TM) smartphone with real console controls that delivers the ultimate gaming experience. With 4G speed, a 4" display, sharp graphics, and awesome sound, your fantasy is now a reality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
55 of 67(82%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G
Review 1 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Cool device at first, not worth it in the long run

, June 18, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: speaker, ease of use
Cons: battery life, limited memory, operating system, software bugs, freezes, design
"This is phone that looks cool, and is very fun to show off to friends. The design of the control pad is nice, but the analog pads don't work that great for games. At some point you'll probably wish it was a full keyboard instead of a game controller. It runs Crash Bandicoot and the other pre-installed games pretty well. At first it seemed like a good and reliable Android device, but as time passed by I became more and more frustrated with it. I started to have slowdown problems, and the phone also freezing and often crashing out of nowhere. The phone's operating system is extremely buggy and inconsistent. After owning the phone for about months, the phone is terribly slow, almost ALWAYS crashes when opening an application, and seems to have a mind of its own at times. There are never any software updates to help improve the phone's performance. This phone will make you angry and frustrated. I almost had to switch back to my old flip phone because the phone acts up so much. Bottom line, stay away from this device. It's a okay device for gamers, but it's below par as a cellular device."
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 15, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: tools, games, ease of use
Cons: battery life, volume level, small keys
"Only thing I have problems with are the text pics that are sent to me have no way of saving them and cannot set a certain ringtone or sound to my voice mail other than that it is a really easy to work with phone."
Location: lebanon, missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Good Android Phone

, June 14, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G
4.2 out of 5(67)
 
 
 
HTC One (TM) X - Gray
4.4 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: games, Wi-Fi capable, good for texting, unique
Cons: battery life, bulky/heavy
"Alright. Let me start by saying I upgraded to this phone from the iphone 3gs. It was a great choice. I love gaming on it, the call quality is great, and is very fast. It is a little bulky though. If you want to use the phone alot each day, you must charge the device every night, which shouldn't really be a problem. Overall, solid phone."
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 12, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: limited memory, small keys, software bugs, freezes
"great phone for gamer. but is easy to use and the vamera quality. the games are video game quality."
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 4, 2012
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use
Cons: battery life, small keys
"Since i have purchased the Sony Ericsson Xperia I have found the phone to be easy to use - the only feature I do not care for is the screen when outside in the sunshine - you cannot see who is calling or even see the screen out of doors - the film cover does not help it either and cannot get the bubbles out of the screen protector - otherwise the phone is great."
Location: Tucson, AZ
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

not that good

, June 4, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory, bulky/heavy, software bugs, freezes
"Battery not last even 3 hours of play, the stand up battery will not last 6 hours, good for gaming but not a lot of games, freeze too often."
Location: 30044
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 4, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
Standard Li-Ion 1500 mAh Battery - Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY 4G
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: limited memory
"I like all sony's telephones. I am always searching for what's new for sony. since they have a great variety of products like home theaters, computer, cameras, etc. I have used some sony cameras and I compared them to my phone I like the way my telephone take pictures. Also the great games I have on it, I can download emulators to my phone and be playing for hours, new games and some from a playstation 1. I can do everything with my phone..."
Location: Carolina, PR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

AWESOME ... games and a phone! :)

, June 4, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, games, speaker, battery life, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: volume level, limited memory, freezes
"Not only does this phone allow you to play your typical Android app games, it also allows you to play full PS games. Crash Bandicoot is my favorite! :D
This phone is very multi-functional. With this particular device you can do anything that you would do with a regular Android smartphone, plus you can play PS games!!!!!! <3
"
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 4, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, camera/video quality, battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: limited memory
"This phone is great and I love it! I never loved an all touch screen phone but this phone is worth it! PlayStation games, vivid screen, and clear pictures n video! I'm always entertained with this phone. I recommend it to everyone!"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, June 3, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory, small keys
"Good phone and good shape great games and wallpaper"
Location: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Awesome alternative to the iPhone!

, May 29, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, bulky/heavy
"First off, I love this phone! I had the Xperia x10a before upgrading to Xperia Play and I'm a huge fan of the Xperia platform. While some reviewers have complained about the sluggish operations of the phone, mine has worked flawlessly from day one. I purchased a 32GB memory card and I never have any problems with having enough space for games, videos, music, etc.
The crowning achievement of this device, of course, is the Playstation certified pull-out game controller keyboard. Sure, it's great for gaming. I have spend countless hours on airplanes (I travel a lot) playing games, watching videos, etc.
However, what I like the most about the Xperia Play is that it is a GREAT phone! Crystal clear sound, adequate call sound level, decent built in speakers, loads files and software quickly, an ultra-crisp touch screen, and a sleek design.
A few cons: The phone is rather heavy and somewhat bulky, however the ergonomic design makes it fairly comfortable in your hand. Battery life: you will have to charge your phone nightly.
All in all, a GREAT alternative to the iPhone. Plus it's a great conversation starter!"
Location: Gainesville, FL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

I hate my phone

, May 26, 2012
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: games
Cons: poor navigation, limited memory, small keys, operating system, bulky/heavy, freezes, durability
"OMG. every single app i get crashes no matter what it is. even my camera and messaging app crashes which is insane. It freezes constantly and restarts itself even when im in the middle of a phone call. I would not recommend this to anyone and i hate the typing on the screen. if you have never tried typing on the screen and think its easy, its not. Oh and another thing, sometimes when im typing my keyboard will get all messed up and when i hit a key to screen will change and a different key will be hit and it is so frustrating. i hate it. I would NOT recommend thus to anyone"
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Amazing phone with everything I need!

, May 24, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, camera/video quality, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, freezes
"I went from an IPhone to this Android and I will never ever go back. It's easy to use, perfect size, nice big screen, and all the features I need. By far the best phone I've ever owned. It's also got a built in playstation that is perfect for someone like me!
The batter life is average for one of these phones I guess..wish that were a little better. The only other complain I have is it randomly "freezes" and kind of pushes random buttons. I 've had to restart my phone several times because of that but it's fine as soon as it comes back on."
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

great GAMING device, not great phone

, May 21, 2012
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use
Cons: software bugs, freezes
"i picked up this phone and fell in love with the ps controller. i kept it for a while then forgot all about my other phones i had in the past. I picked up my old infuse for my brother to use and i noticed while i was erasing it that it had a lot of the same features, but it seemed like the infuse was more of a phone, for example, when typing a phone number in the infuse withh bring up all contacts that start with 225921 and allowing you to press them once to call, very simple and a nice feature. the infuse had more features than the play for a phone, but the play beats any phone on games, design for playing games and game quality. its so fun to play games on that phone, EVEN EMULATORS can be played with the ps controller."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, May 11, 2012
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use
Cons: battery life, limited memory
"this phone is great for the gamer-side of everyone, but the display is bad and for lack of a better word not hd. i love this phone and the graphics are ok for most of the games. im am a minecraft geek so thats a plus."
Location: des moines ia
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

, May 11, 2012
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: games, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable
Cons: battery life, operating system, freezes
"I was sent this phone as a replacement to my phone, and i was not happy. Overall this is an "okay" phone. I wouldn't recommend this phone for anything beyond personal usage. The fact that the phone appears similar to a game consoles controllers is a benefit if you are into that type of entertainment. The access to games is very easy and its apparent the phone is really geared to teenage males. The slide out function is on useful for gaming, otherwise it your average smart phone"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

If you like to game anywhere, this is for you

, April 27, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, camera/video quality, battery life, durable, ease of use
Cons: limited memory, software bugs
"I love this phone. I have multiple emulators; N64, SNES, Gameboy, and Gensis. They all run splendidly. Minecraft PE is also a must have. The battery consistently last over a day and a half with normal use, if you do a lot of gaming it may go down faster, but I haven't had this issue. The docking station that it comes with is very handy if you plan on using it as an alarm clock. The only thing is that the internal memory is kind of small at only ~500Mb and there are a few preloaded games that you can't remove, but with ICS this won't be an issue."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Its a great phone for like a lot of game playing

, April 24, 2012
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, ease of use, games, speaker
Cons: battery life, limited memory, bulky/heavy
"this phone is great mostly for people who never want to leave their house because there in the middle of playing on their xbox 360 or some sort. for on the go players. the phone specs could have been better, but overall good phone for like teens/kids/young adults. Camera not impressed but somewhat not really bothers me, because i can take pictures with like a digital camera anyways. this is a really good phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Playstation :)

, March 30, 2012
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, games, speaker, Wi-Fi capable
Cons: battery life
"What more could you ask for; it's a phone, it's a PSP all wrapped in one!"
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Ericsson Xperia (TM) PLAY 4G

Average at best

, March 29, 2012
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: Wi-Fi capable
Cons: battery life, volume level, limited memory, freezes, durability
"Once the novelty wares off its an average phone at best, has little memory, and apps constantly crash. A also have problems with messaging."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>