AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Veer 4G* - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

HP Veer 4G* - Black

With HP Veer 4G*, you get the web, apps, social networks, and more. All in one incredibly small design powered by HP webOS. Never before has a smartphone done so much, and felt so little.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
44 of 58(76%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Veer 4G* - Black
Review 21 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

, July 10, 2011
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: Wi-Fi capable, ease of use
Cons: operating system, software bugs
"WebOS is way behind on program capability. I kept running into File Type Not Supported when surfing the web, and unable to download pdf files since not supported. Nice size, good screen, good features, but the OS is terrible. Returned phone, and checked other brands and they did the web stuff good."
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Easily the best small smartphone on the market!

, July 3, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting, webos is amazing
Cons: small keys, screen size for some
"This phone is small, I mean very small. No matter how many photos you of this phone, you don't really how amazingly small the design is. The keyboard is surprisingly very very easy to use and feels responsive and comfortable while typing. The screen is quite vibrant as well and the build of the phone feels solid and sturdy. This phone is definitely designed better hardware wise than the previous Pre phones. The only downside I've experience so far is remembering to carry around the headphone preprietary and AC charging cord. Other than that, I totally recommened this phone for someone looking for a phone not to overly bulky but still needs power as well. This is a full blown smartphone."
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Powerful Smart Phone, Small keys and Screen

, June 27, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, hot spot
Cons: small keys, durability, camera quality, a bit to small
"This device is very powerful. I received it after having two defective blackberry torches. I was truly shocked this little thing has some true power. I am able to do more on this little phone then I could on the black berry torch. I have a built in mobile hot spot, a full key board, it all in a palm sized device."
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
edjr
hot spot
Posted July 8, 2011
built in hot spot? do you need to add the "tethering plan" in order to use the built in hot spot??
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 24 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

, June 24, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, small keys, not all touch screen
"absolutely an awesome phone. easy to use light wait and not easily broken. good buy for younger children that want a high tech phone like the older ones."
Location: Paris,Tx
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Great Little phone =)

, June 23, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, freezes
"Ive had my phone for over two weeks now could be longer but i love it the only thing that bugs me is that it freezes....When it freezes you cant do anything so i hope god forbid if you need serious help that it doesnt freeze on you at that moment cause it could mean life or death seriously. Other then that the phone is awesome it doesnt freeze all the time maybe like once a day on average and i usually just restart the phone and its good again. Battery life isnt that great i mean im not on my phone constantly and i have to charge it every night so if your a heavy texter, surfer etc then you may be charging it more frequently then i do."
Location: Eatontown NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Awesome tiny smartphone!!!

, June 20, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting, small size
"I use this phone for business and personal, and am extremely happy with it. I have had it for almost a month now, and am glad that I finally upgraded to a smart phone. Almost everyone I know has the iphone (which is an awesome phone and is great for most people), but I really wanted a smaller phone that I could stick in my pocket and not have it be too bulky. I was hoping that Apple would introduce an iphone nano, but since that may never happen, this is the next best thing. Very good for texting, easy to use (even the small QWERTY keyboard works well and allows you to easily respond to messages and e-mail), plenty of games and apps (not as much at the iphone, but plenty to keep you happy), and great for reading work and personal e-mail. Keeping up with friends on Facebook, finding movie show times at your nearest theater, and playing games like Angry Birds can all be done with the Veer. Screen is smaller than iphone, but big enough to play a lot of fun games and watch short videos with ease (and probably fine for a movie if you really wanted, but I have not tried). Camera takes good pictures as long at there is enough light, but no flash for night pictures. All the important functionality of an iphone in a tiny pocket sized package that gets lots of attention due to its small size. Plus, the wireless charging base for Palm/HP phones is super cool and easy to use. Battery life seems to be very similar to the iphone too (which my wife and daughter have), which means the battery will last you about a day if you use it a fair amount. This seems to be pretty typical of smart phones, all of which have a shorter battery life compared to non-smartphones. If you have been looking for a smaller smart phone that could do almost anything that the larger phones can do, then look no further-- you have found your new phone."
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

really good. battery is a little slow...but AMAZIN

, June 19, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting, amazing size
Cons: battery life
"it is very easy to use and i love it! it is so tiny but it very perfect in use. i love texting on it and calling people is amazingly clear. i have never had a dropped call. and it is amazing for internet!"
Location: Elm Grove, WI
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Love this phone!

, June 10, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: ease of use, good for texting
"I bought this phone about a week ago for the size and have no regrets. It's an awesome phone and would recommend it to anybody looking for something that's not as bulky as most other devices on the market. The display is very vivid and the keyboard is really easy to use/type on."
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Great OS update

, May 31, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, durable, ease of use
Cons: limited memory
"Great HP smartphone after a long time.
Would like to see more games....
:-)"
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

I'm back to using small phones again!

, May 28, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, games, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting, pocketable
Cons: camera is so-so
"Before phones with big touchscreens, I always favored small phones that easily fit in my pocket. Unfortunately, as phones got more advanced, smaller phones were basically just texting phones. I've had the Veer 4G for about a week and can say without hesitation that I LOVE THIS PHONE! webOS is great on a small phone and unless you do a lot of hard-core gaming or watch whole movies on your phone (I don't), you won't miss the bigger screen. The keyboard is surprisingly easy to type on (check out my video of my typing on it). This phone does everything other smartphones can do, while fitting in my change pocket in my jeans. Awesome. I wish the camera had an LED flash but I can live without that."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Typing on the HP Veer 4G
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

smallest smartphone on the market -- cool toy

, May 26, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, ease of use, good for texting
"I've been using Veer 4G for almost 2 weeks now and I like it. Mostly i like the fact that it such a small phone -- can easily fit in shirt's front pocket for example -- while at the same time it is a full blown smartphone. I can check facebook, listen to pandora, recieve and answer work and personal emails and watch youtube videos and actually do it all at the same time. Yes, I know, I have a little bit of ADD :)
Overall I think its a greatr phone so if you are in teh market for a smartphone but would rather have a small formfactor definitely consider this phone
"
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

this phone is far the best phone EVER!!!!

, May 25, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: no cons.....
"I love this phone, I got it and have used it every minute. All ATT phones are wayyyyy better than any other company!"
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

WOW

, May 23, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"Really speedy phone, total smart phone functionality and can fit in your change pocket."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Amazing

, May 21, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting, 4g, webos, multi-task
Cons: limited memory
"This phone is amazing! I have tried many different phones. I have used an Iphone and hated it. Used 3 androids and loved it. This is the only phone that i will jump ship from android. Its size is great. Very nice and easy to use. It has great features and multi-tasks with ease. The keyboard is small but is great. Definately need to try this out"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

fast, compact, ease of use.

, May 19, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use
Cons: small keys
"The phone is surprisingly quick. It is actually quicker than a lot of slab phones out there. It's very compact and easy to tote around. The phone uses the webOS 2.1.2 which multitasks like a boss. You can put your applications into card view to switch between applications. You can also organize your cards into stacks in which you simply stack cards on top of other cards in any order you'd like. If you ever need to search for an application or need to simply surf the web all you have to do is just type."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

won't hold a charge

, May 19, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: menus, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory, off balance design when slid out
"The battery life in this is dismal. I thought by getting a smaller device that the battery would be more efficient, but this was not the case. I can only use it for half a day of average web browsing and calls/texting before I have to recharge. Hopefully, there will be a larger batter I can upgrade to.
I looked at these reviews before buying and can't understand why anyone would give battery life 4 stars or more.
The display is very small but gets the job done.
The features of WebOS are the main selling point, but the salesman warned me that Palm has a history of making new phones, but never updating them and it's not AT&T's fault if I find myself behind the times.
The phone downloads content very fast.
The design is OK, if you want to get used to sliding your keyboard in and out every time you want to input data. When you put the phone on a desk with the keyboard out, it is off balance a little."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
teachu
Wha?
Posted May 28, 2011
I have had a WebOS phone for several years and have gotten plenty of updates and upgrades. The battery life on this phone is equivalent to almost every phone with similar capabilities in fact better than most.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 37 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Amazing

, May 18, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, camera/video quality, speaker, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"This is everything you could want in a phone, but also a great companion to any tablet device"
Location: Beverly Hills
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Big things come in small packages

, May 18, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"This phone is great. WebOS is by far the best operating system. It is easy to use and great if you're buying a smartphone for the first time. It's small size is fantastic and it will fit in anyones pocket with ease."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

Speedy compact multi-function easy use versatile

, May 18, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting, mobile hotspot
"Great small phone, amazing that it can do so much .
Great for meetings as is so small that no one notices, yet one can quickly glance at emails and messages with webOS notifications.
Great to carry around in pocket as does not drag it down with the phone's weight.
Does mail and messaging well.
Easy to listen to music and has good sound. Can take it on jogs to the park, it is so lightweight!
Some nice apps--Carbon for twitter is especially elegant. Flightview is great to find out if flights are late."
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Veer 4G* - Black

small but packs a punch

, May 18, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"this phone is great. it's not for everyone, but for anyone that doesn't want a cellphone taking up all the real estate in their pocket, and wants the most portability without sacrificing power, this is it."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>