AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

The Samsung a187 keeps you fully connected to your world with messaging, email, full QWERTY keyboard, quick messaging key, web browsing and BLUETOOTH® technology. Capture and enjoy your favorite moments with the built-in camera and music player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.239 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 of 46(83%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid
Review 1 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Great go phone or replacement phone

, July 7, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, speaker, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory, small keys
"I broke my contract phone, and wanted to wait until my contract was finished in order to upgrade rather than spending tons of money on a new phone. I bought this phone as a temporary replacement and loved it. It's so easy to use, the keys are small but you get used to it. The camera isn't very high quality but it still functions. It's a go-to basic phone for people who text a lot but don't necessarily need it for the web or social networking."
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

This phone is not good

, June 28, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: battery life
Cons: poor navigation, volume level, limited memory, small keys, durability
"I hate this phone trust me u don't want this phone"
Age: 13-17
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, May 12, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: battery life, good for texting
Cons: small keys
"Great phone overall. Only complaint is its easy to cancel a message when ur typing and its hard to read in sunlight. It holds a charge well and am very pleased. Its a good phone if u just need something basic i would reccomond it."
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

i love my phone

, April 21, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: camera/video quality, battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"I actually have the SGH-A177, which is the previous model. The only thing I have not liked is no microSD card slot...that was corrected in the A-187."
Location: new paris, ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, April 20, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: games, speaker, battery life, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: limited memory
"I really enjoy my phone. I bought it because i needed to replace my phone and could not be happier. I love the look. The key pad is so easy to use. It is really a good phone for texting. It does not take up a lot of room and just overall i love the phone. I do however wish that there were accesories for the prepaid phones. This is a good option for someone who needs a new phone but cannot do an upgrade."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, April 18, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, speaker, battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting
"I would definitely recommend this phone to my friends. It is super easy to use, especially for messaging. I have long fingernails and it has the perfect keyboard for me. Many times the letters are too small to hit accurately and I DO NOT have that trouble with this phonel Love it!"
Location: Owosso, Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, April 14, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: tools, speaker, durable, good for texting
Cons: battery life, poor navigation, small keys, operating system, camera/video
"this phone is nice looks like a blackberry which is what they are going for without the smart part..
but the navigation is poor and the camera is hard to locate and small and does not take good pics pretty much get what u pay for..if u just talk on the phone perfect
"
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Best phone for the money!

, April 11, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: small keys
"This phone is easy to use and features are self explanatory. As a long time AT&T customer I routinely upgrade my phone and have found this to be one of the best upgrades for the everyday user. Text, email, speaker, gaming, photos are super easy features. You will be up and running right out of the box!"
Location: New Palestine, IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Good bang for the buck

, April 10, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: menus, speaker, good for texting
Cons: camera is weak
"I'm not someone that needs a lot out of my phone. I talk, text, snap an occasionaly pic and that is about it. I like this phone because it has a full keyboard and it's reasonably priced. The menus aren't confusing and easy to navigate. It has a more than adequate speaker which works well over the din of my old car's engine which is what I need.
I couldn't tell you about the apps or anything because I rarely use them. The camera is OK and that's about it. It's slim, easy to use and comes with decent features if you need more out of it."
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

would not buy again

, April 10, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: poor navigation
"I have never been able to use the bluetooth on this phone, it does not recognize it.
I like the keyboard for texting, but that is about it.
Can not save my pictures no place for a memory card.
"
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Easy, quick, slick.

, April 10, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: battery life, limited memory
"This product is very great. It has easy buttons, even though they are a bit small, and has a lovely back material that prevents it from slipping. It has easy to access topics or places such as the message center and is very durable. Also, the camera takes very good pictures for such a small phone. It does have limited memory, however!"
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Disappointed with this phone

, April 7, 2011
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: it work ???
Cons: poor navigation, small keys, menus convoluted, phone's case poorly shaped, lacks basic features
"It's hard for me to believe that any manufacturer or carrier would not see the obvious flaws in this phone and correct them.
Keys are too easy to mistype. Menus are convoluted. Back of phone has a curve at the bottom preventing it from laying flat, while serving no purpose. Doesn't allow the user to set their own tone for text messages.
"
Location: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Best phone experience I've had for the money!

, April 6, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, camera/video quality, battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting, affordable
Cons: small keys
"I dropped my phone and it died! I knew my contract was not up for some time so I decided to try and purchase a Go-Phone from a local store. I LOVE this phone - it is exactly what I needed for ME. I have recommended it to everyone that has broken phones or phone issues."
Location: Plainfield, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Cheap But Worthwhile Great for Temporary use.

, April 5, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, games, speaker, battery life, durable, ease of use, good for texting, locking your phone
Cons: limited memory, no video camera
"When My LG Xenon Was Broken I Bought The Samsung SGH-a187 And While Was Hard to understand at first I simply fell in love with it as time increased. Reception is Great Battery Life is Long and the style which is like a blackberry makes messaging fun. Only Problems Are Your Memory Card Will Not Always Be Accessible and there is no video camera Other than that GREAT phone."
Location: Gary,Indiana
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Decent messaging phone - with small buttons

, April 4, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: speaker, battery life, good for texting
Cons: small keys
"Inexpensive phone, good sound quality. Small keyboard buttons."
Location: Southington, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

awesome

, April 3, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Display
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Its a great phone.. I love it.. It has very easy to use features and i love the design!! I got the color blue and its so nice.It is just a great phone.. This is one of the best phones to use! ATT IS GREAT!!"
Location: garden city, ks
Age: 56+
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, March 23, 2011
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: menus, camera/video quality, Wi-Fi capable, good for texting
Cons: battery life, small keys, freezes
"I got this phone because my other broke. The thing I hate the most about it is that it only works on speaker phone, so if I have to call my parents from school I have to use a friend's phone which gets to be annoying. It freezes sometimes too. Another thing is the battery life doesn't last that long if you use it pretty much all day. The keys are a little small, but its a good phone for texting. It has good camera quality, but no video thing like it says. Also, I don't know how to add a signature but if anyone knows could they tell me?"
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

Pretty good

, March 15, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, games, camera/video quality, good for texting
Cons: battery life
"I just got this phone 4 days ago. So far I like it a lot, its good for texting, cheap games, the camera is good, and for a phone the internet is okay. It takes a little while to get used to using it though.
The only bad for me is battery life. If you use the phone heavily, the battery only lasts 2 days.
"
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

, March 14, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Display
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: tools, menus, camera/video quality, speaker, battery life, Wi-Fi capable, durable, ease of use, good for texting
Cons: limited memory
"It is great, I have one, and its the best!
it has a easy ACCESS, you can listen music,
you can see your mail its amazing
"
Age: 13-17
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung SGH-a187 - GoPhone® - Prepaid

AWFUL phone - lots of issues

, March 7, 2011
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Display
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Pros: speaker
Cons: poor navigation, limited memory, small keys, freezes
"I was excited to finally have a full keyboard for texting but this phone has been a pain since the day I got it. It's way too easy to hit "cancel" instead of "send" when you're texting, the process to add the person you want to send a message to is cumbersome and the keys are entirely too small. The worst part is that this phone turns itself off constantly for no reason. Just - POOF! - it's off! Turn it back on, it won't even finish the loading process, just turns off again. It will do this multiple times before it will finally stay on and then start up all over again. Could be in 4 minutes, could be 4 weeks. VERY unreliable."
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>