AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

A premium, truly voice controlled speakerphone. Control device functions and usage through interactive user voice commands. Text to speech technology reads out callers name on incoming call.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4
Review 1 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

exceeds all expectations can be used in many ways

, July 29, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: use in car & home, two phones at once, battery life is amazing, the sound is excellent, audio for person called is excellent, portability, additional services
Cons: the short very short charging cable
"I have been using my BluAnt for about 4 months now. It works very well. Some things I like about it:
1) I take it in my home when I get out of the car. I put it in our main room, for I tend to put the BlackBerry Torch on a great wall mounted charging station (it lets one charge anything, and looks like a very nice piece of furniture). With The BlueAnt S4 in our main room, I can hear when I receive a call and then take it, for the sound and transmission sound is excellent both in a car and in the house.
2) You have to remember that it does NOT dial your phone. Your phone must be capable of voice dialing, which many are. That is where one needs to train their phone with their voice. BlueAnt just opens up that program and lets the user then use any phone command, such as calling someone.
3) super long lasting battery
4) great if the user has two cars. Just grab it from one car and take to the second car - perfect.
5) it works with two phones. So, spouses or friends, whomever you want, can also use the device while in the car.
6) it updates its contact list from the users phone, then when a call comes in, the callers name is announced, then the unit asks the user if they want to take the call or send it to voice mail. This is great if a friend is in the car or a spouse. Assuming it is not an emergency call from home, one can just tell the unit to take the call to voice mail, thus, the user is not being rude to the other person in the car by taking a phone call. That is just so rude.
7) has three power positions, off, on, and battery stand-by.
8) just ask it how full its battery is and it will give the answer. If it needs a charge, it can be charged right in the car, using the normal car charging method (NOTE: the cable that comes with the unit to connect to the wall or car charger is about 6 inches long, so, the user has to take the unit off of the visor and set it down by the charger. But, it still works and sounds great.)
9) I feel for what one pays for the BlueAnt S4, they are getting a great deal on a solid product which has a lot of flexibility
10) the user can ask the S4 to go to "favorites." Favorites is a list of many services, some will cost the user, depending on their phone plan. This favorites can come in handy if something like I get to the theater, the movie is sold out, and I don't have to use the phone to find the closest theater at which the film I want to see is playing. I can just ask BlueAnt. Of course it is not a real problem using the phone, but, this is just convenient.
12) it is just a great way to get Bluetooth capability in the car,. I have friends whose car has basically this type of unit built into the car. This is a nice way to achieve the same thing and more."
Location: Washington, DC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

, July 27, 2011
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: loud & clear
Cons: big & bulky
"Don't like annoying bluetooth pieces inside of your ear? Problem solved! BlueAnt S4 is the most comfortable way to talk on the phone without getting a ticket! "BlueAnt speak to me!""
Location: Lathrop, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: Yes
Continuous Surfer: Yes
Social Networker: Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

Okay

, May 25, 2011
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"While this product was slim and attractive and somewhat user friendly, it did not like my voice! It didn't matter how clearly or slowly I spoke, it would dial the wrong person. My husband could speak the exact same words, same way and it would work! I did like the fact it was totally voice activated. I really didn't think you should have to say "Blue Ant speak to me" every time but you do. When you are ready to call someone that takes additional time. Price wise it is average. I have been looking and it is about the same as the others."
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rocklobster7413
Washington, DC
The issue is with the cell phone
Posted August 2, 2011
The BlueAnt does NOT dial the phone. The phone has to have the ability to dial by voice. When the user asks BlueAnt S4 for "phone commands," the user is actually speaking to the phone, not to the BlueAnt device. So, the BlueAnt is not the issue. You may want to retrain your voice dialing on your phone, that will help enormously.
But, to be fair, this is not a BlueAnt S4 issue. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

, April 5, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Bought this device about 7 months ago and I always
Use and love it very easy to set up
And use and love the fact ghat when someone
Calls me the blueant tells me who is calling
Without looking at my cell phone tp see who
It is and it's very loud
"
Location: Porterville
Age: 18-25
Gender: Female
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: No
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

Better than most

, March 7, 2011
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: easy to use., loud and clear., solid battery life., attaches to vehicles visor.
Cons: not for the technology illiterate people., little pricey
"I've tried numerous hands free devices and if I were to choose something that works well with my iPhone 4 I would go with the Blue Ant. I've never had trouble with connectivity or with the hands free dialing. It may be bulking, but where are you putting this? In your ear? Bulky I think of a Brink Phone this is about the same size of my iPhone 4 and attaches nicely to my visor. I've not tried this with other phone models so I am only speaking for the iPhone 4. This hands free device was also recommended to me by 2 other iPhone 4 users that were extremely happy with their purchase."
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I primarily use my phone for: Business and Personal
Heavy Talker: Yes
Turbo Texter: No
Continuous Surfer: No
Social Networker: No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

Great idea - but the product is not finished yet

, August 27, 2010
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"This is a great concept, but the unit lacks it's own dialer, so If you do not have a dialer, or you have a poor quality dialer, you just wasted a pile of money. In addition, the device does not always reconize you command, nor does it automatically connetct to your phone, should you loose a connection.
They have more work to do before they make this one worth the money
"
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rocklobster7413
Washington, DC
take it to your sales person
Posted August 2, 2011
The BlueAnt S4 literature, on line and on the box, explain in detail that this is a bluetooth device which works with the users voice dialing program. If they do not have that on their phone, this won't help too much, yet it is not a waste. Think about if you use a bluetooth ear piece, that does not dial your phone, it works with your voice dial program on the phone.
If your dealer did not explain this, I suggest you take it back, regardless of how long you have had the device and just be honest with them, they sold you something that did not work for your phone and that, no matter how one cuts it, is not fair, nor a good business practice. You may even want to call on BlueAnt and see if they can help you out with this matter. They have been very helpful to me when I have called for support. Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

can not dail with my model phone

, August 16, 2010
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"nokia 6350 can not voice dial with my phone. what is the point of having bluetooth if you can not dial with it."
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rocklobster7413
Washington, DC
hands free phone usage
Posted August 2, 2011
In this case, one would use the device just as one would use a cordless Bluetooth ear piece, except that this is so much more comfortable and has many other options.
If you were told it would dial the phone, you need to see your rep. They want you happy and if you were sold the wrong product, I have found AT&T to be beyond fair in these matters. Really.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Bluetooth Car Kit - BlueAnt S4

it's fun how BA talks when selecting options

, August 1, 2010
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: sounds grrat nosie reduction greatno echo, style
Cons: too heavy, needs to be a bit smaller in size
"The Blue Ant is defiantly a high quality product. I had been using the old style Motorola BT spearker (really loved the small size) but got so many complaints about noise & echo, so I gave this wonderful device a try, No complaints from the other party about sound, I also hear the person I'm talking with great. The only thing I don't like is weight & size, it causes my visor in my Civic to flop down. I do hope BA will design some sort apparatus to hold it on the dash and also a case to put it in when stowing it away when I'm out of my car.(it is just alittle too noticeable if you know what I mean). I really dig my hands free device..."
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rocklobster7413
Washington, DC
you are right on
Posted August 2, 2011
having a case for this great product seems almost like a necessity. It should come with the unit and the user should not have to buy a case for the BlueAnt S4. For me, the size is fine, but, I can see for some users it may seem a bit large.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)