AT&T Cell Phone & Plans Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at AT&T Cell Phone & Plans.

OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

The OtterBox Defender case is a semi-rugged, fully interactive case that enables complete usability of the touch screen and camera and provides maximum protection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
19 of 22(86%)customers who reviewed this product would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G
Review 1 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Terrible Product

, June 7, 2009
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I bought my phone and this case together and put my phone inside right away. I took it off about 3 hours later and it had scratches on the Apple logo and a mark around the screen where the plastic case turns to a screen protector. I took the case off to put on the Zagg Invisible Shield. Thankfully the sheild hides scratches. I knew the Otterbox case could no longer scratch my iPhone so i put it in the case. But it wouldn't fit. The less than one millimeter sheild has to much grip to fit inside. Just to tell you, the invisible shield is great. DO NOT BY THE OTTERBOX. IT SCRATCHES YOU PHONE AND IS TO TIGHTLY FIT FOR AND PROTECTIVE SHIELDS. Note: I have the Zagg Invisible Shield full body coverage. The screen protector alone might fit inside the Otterbox, but i would test it in stores."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

, June 6, 2009
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I really cant give it 5 stars yet just got it but this case wraps up the entire phone quite well, a plastic case snaps around the phone and then a silica or rubber case goes around that and covers the entire plastic, the phone does not move at all inside the case(s)!! The headphone, vibrate/ring switch and charging dock all have removable covers which are attached but found the vibe /ring switch can be a little tricky because of the small slot. The mic, speaker, ear piece(all 3 have dust covers inside), camera, apple logo, light sensor, and screen ,which is recessed a little, are all exposed. The volume and lock both have raised surfaces and the home button is recessed. The phone goes in the clip "face first" held by ball and sockets on the sides which fits snug and can be reversed for watching videos. The clip seems a little on the cheap side and can be used as a stand."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Holster is good, people don't know how to use

, June 4, 2009
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"So, the case is awesome if you want to ultimately protect your investment.
The HOLSTER...people are saying that their phones fall out. That means they aren't usin it correctly. The face of the phone MUST FACE INTO THE CASE. The only time it should face out is to watch movies with the ultra cool feature the holster has to tilt the iPhone.
Get an anti glare screen protector for the water mark or use the baby powder trick from Morpheous on YouTube."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

BEST CASE ON THE MARKET!!!!

, May 21, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: very safe, hard screen cover, mesh cover for speakers & mic
Cons: holster, watermark
"I BOUGHT THIS CASE & LOVE IT! I AM A FREQUENT PHONE DROPPER...THIS LETS ME HAVE PEICE OF MIND WITH MY IPHONE...IT IS SOOO PROTECTED...SCREEN & ALL. IT EVEN HAS A MESH COVER OVER THE MICRAPHONE & SPEAKERS TO KEEP DIRT OUT! THE HOLSTER IS NOT THE BEST BUT I STILL USE IT. ITS WORTH IT EITHER WAY. IF YOU EVER DROP YOUR PHONES I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS! BETTER THAN BUYING A NEW PHONE.... IT DOES MAKE IT A LITTLE BIGGER BUT ITS NOT AS BAD AS I EXPECTED. WELL WORTH THE COST!!!!!! THE SCREEN COVER WILL PRODUCE A WATER MARK BUT GO TO YOUTUBE AND LOOK FOR A GUY NAMED MORPHIUS OR SOMTHIN LIKE THAT...HE SHOWS HOW WITH A LITTLE BABY POWDER YOU CAN GET THAT TO GO AWAY...IT TAKES A FEW TRYS BUT IT WORKS!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Honestly....the only case out there.

, May 10, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: best protection
Cons: lack of color selection
"I've been using the OtterBox case on my iPhone for a couple weeks now and I cant believe the protection it has. I never realized how often I dropped my phone. PS I love the holster for watching movies!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

, May 2, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I bought the "otter box" thinking it would just be a nice, cool looking, case. The "Otter Box" blew my mind its strong, not to bulky, the gel-like
exo-skeleton feels amazing. I LOVE IT! I highly recommend the "Otter Box."
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Great!!!

, April 29, 2009
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This case is great... the only draw back is the oil slick look on the screen. Do not use Otterboxes recommendations to correct this (oil from face). Use baby powder on the inside of the case. Works 1st time everytime. Video on You Tube (think Morpheus did it). The only reason the case did not get a 5 is because of this problem."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Try this on the watermark problem

, April 25, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"My salesperson tried leaving a screen protector on my iphone which reduced the watermark to the size of a large pea. Then one day i decided ro clean both the iphone and inside of the Otterbox with eyeglass lens cleaner. The result was no more watermark.
The phone seems to work fine even with the additional screen protector.
Also, my wife dropped her phone on a ceramic floor when she slung her purse on her shoulder without any damage. You'd be crazy to buy an iphone without this box!
"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

a tank...great protection!

, April 20, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: great protection, comes with screen protection
Cons: unable to use some accessories
"I have dropped my iphone at least ten or twelve times already from the height of a full size truck seat onto concrete and the OtterBox has fullfilled it's job. So there's a little watermark, big deal, beats shattered glass anytime! Awesome product!!!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

the belt clip is not secure

, April 11, 2009
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"The case is very much what I was expecting it is great. But the belt clip does not hold the case securely. I use it on a duty belt and it has popped out several times."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Too limiting

, April 6, 2009
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"I bought this because I tend to be clumsy and it's only a matter of time before I drop my iPhone. As far as protection goes, I have to say it's beyond anything else you can buy. However...
Without getting additional screen protection to keep the screen from sticking to the case, you get an extremely annoying watermark smack in the middle of the screen. The backlight tends to help a bit, but it's still there.
The ports are not large enough to fit a large number of accessories that I have bought, such as the TV cables to connect my phone to watch a movie on TV. It also doesn't allow for me to hook up my car charger to the charging port. I also think that the general sound coming from the speakers is slightly muted when the case is on.
Overall, it is definitely protective--but the limitations I spelled out have resulted in me ripping the phone out of the case within a few hours of putting it on each time."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Excellent protection with 2 minor problems

, April 4, 2009
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: user friendly, peace of mind
Cons: belt clip needs overhaul, "watermark" is unattractive
"Well worth the money, I feel this case will definately protect my iPhone. I appreciate the design that takes into account the protection factor and ease of use. Two small issues:
1) Holster doesn't secure phone to my satisfaction. I do use holster on car visor while driving, hasn't fallen yet! I would like to see a holster or case designed to secure phone on belt, I have tried larger holsters but silicone skin on otterbox makes it very difficult to remove from closed case.
2) After phone is inserted into otterbox hard shell, a watermark appears but dissipated when phone light illuminated. Also hints to rid watermark with otterbox were easily located on third party websights.
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Great protection for my iPhone

, April 3, 2009
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: protection
Cons: holster is useless
"The case for my iPhone is great when it comes to protection. I have easy access to the various ports, except for the on/off switch for the ringer. I'd recommend the case alone.
As far as the holster goes, it's completely useless. I tried attaching the iphone to the holster but it kept falling out. I ended up buying a case with a clip so i can attached it to my belt."
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

AWESOME!

, March 28, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This case is by far the best case I have tried. I have tried everything from incipio which was what i had previously to the speck rugged. I was happy with that until I found it had to take out and put back in. I also didn't like the belt clip cuz it would dig into my side. This case has solved those problems and given a boxed in feeling. It seems as if you can throw it and nothing would happen to it. I do this all the time. I am really happy with this case. They thought of everything. From the proximity sensor to the port opening for the charging. ****The 2g or combo charger with the headset will not do it has to be the 3g charger."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Very nice!

, March 27, 2009
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Pros: total protection, not too bulky
Cons: not easy to access with dock and other add-ons
"The lady at the store showed me this when I was looking for a case. This case fit me to the tee. It almost completely encompasses the phone so unless you completely drop it in the ocean it's protected. Even though it's completely covered you can still use it like the case isn't there. Not too bulky. Even if it is it's well worth it. For the money it's the best protection you could buy for your phone. Haven't regretted it for a second."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

WOW...just what I've been waiting for!

, March 19, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"The OtterBox is idealy PERFECT for any prior users that have switched from the Blackberry to the iPhone! It's bulky but rugged and secure and this is what I have been looking for!"
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

AWESOME PROTECTION - worthless belt clip

, March 6, 2009
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"This case offers the best protection you can get and a good thing too, because the phone will not stay in the clip/holster. It falls out several time a day. If you don't need a belt clip/holster, this is stil a great buy. Don't buy it for the holster!"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

Best Protection Available

, March 2, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"Although the phone is very durable by itself, us older people who count on our phone in the field to stay working need that extra added insurance of protection. This case although adds bulk, adds real piece of mind. I've dropped it on concrete with no marks. The screen is also protected with a thin overlay and the included belt clip make this an ideal accessory to those who work in the field. The customer service at otter is top rate. Your phone will stay brand new for years as no portion is left exposed. A Well Designed and thought out product."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

It's absolutely fabulous!

, March 1, 2009
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
"I love my OtterBox. A friend told me about it and I keep my iphone in it at all times- I even charge in it. I no longer worry about dropping or scratching my phone. This case is double tough. I throw my phone in my purse or attach it to my hip and go. Some may think its a bit bulky but its worth it to know that my screen is safe. I cracked the screen on my ipod video and was crushed. This is a great buy."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OtterBox Defender Case - iPhone 3G

POORLY CONSTRUCTED!

, January 29, 2009
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
"LOVED THE OTTERBOX FOR CURVE SO I NATURALLY BOUGHT ONE FOR MY IPHONE. THE PHONE IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT GETTING IN AND OUT OF THE HOLSTER. THE RUBBER HEADPHONE AND CHARGING COVERS WILL NOT STAY IN. THE RUBBER COVER FOR THE HEADPHONES TORE OFF IN A COUPLE OF DAYS. WHEN YOU TRY TO PUT THE PHONE IN THE HOLSTER THE RUBBER ON THE SIDE CATCHES AND PULLS BACK. WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS PRODUCT."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>